Research Guides: Health Behavior and Health Education: Databases By Topic

Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association.
PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a popular abstract and citation database. Comparable to Google Scholar for breadth of topics and ease of use, Scopus searches nearly 18,000 peer-reviewed journals and provides a search interface that allows you to have much greater control over your search results.
EMBASE.com This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a global biomedical bibliographic database. With only 35% overlap with Medline/PubMed, EMBASE is a great complementary database when you are searching on a biomedical topic, especially when you are looking for a global perspective.

Populations Databases

AgeLine (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts books, journals, research reports, dissertations, consumer guides, book chapters, and educational videos in the field of aging and social gerontology. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on a wide-range of subjects relating to Mexican Americans. Records added since 1992 expand the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations drawn from more than 400 journals, primarily in Spanish or English, which cover Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes 600 popular & scholarly publications (print & electronic) addressing the social, legal, economic, political, cultural, historical, literary, & health concerns of the Gay-Lesbian-Bisexual-Transgender community.

Social Sciences Databases

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"Family & Society Studies Worldwide covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. The quality and quantity of literature cited have been increase
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary journal literature index, with searchable author abstracts, covering a broad range of social science literature including anthropology, social work, public health, urban studies, law and more. Indexes 1700 journals spanning 50 disciplines.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index of social services literature, including social welfare, policy and community development. Abstracts cover journal articles, dissertations and book reviews. While this database indexes more journals than Social Work Abstracts, many of the journals are not available on this campus.
Social Sciences Abstracts (with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this resource provides indexing and abstracts for a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Other Databases

ERIC [FirstSearch] This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, government publications and unpublished materials such as conference papers, reports, theses and more.
Global Health (CABI) This link opens in a new window
Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, and more.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from Sage Publications, Inc., contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.

Reports and Proceedings

For research not indexed in MEDLINE or other major databases:

Grey Literature Research Guide
Provides resources and information on how to search for Grey Literature.
NIH RePORT
Interface for searching portfolios of NIH-funded research.
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
OpenSIGLE: Biological and Medical Sciences
OpenSIGLE - System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe provides access to SIGLE bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.
USAID DEC
USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) is the largest online resource for USAID funded technical and program documentation, with over 78500 documents available for electronic download. Search USAID's online database of agency-funded technical and program-related documents to download USAID documents in PDF format for free.

World Health Organization

WHO Publications
Search for publications in the new Publications Hub!
WHO: African Index Medicus
Provides access to health information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the World Health Organization (WHO), in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.
WHOLIS: Western Pacific
The Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM) is a project of the WHO Western Pacific Regional Office in collaboration with several institutions in its Member States. WPRIM will be deployed and hosted, along with the index medici of other WHO Regions, at the Global Index Medicus portal under the GHL platform, where searches can be conducted individually or simultaneously through a federated search engine.
WHOLIS: Eastern Mediterranean
In order to give access to health literature published in or related to the Eastern Mediterranean Region, the Eastern Mediterranean Region Library Network (EMLIBNET) produces an international index to Eastern Mediterranean health literature and information sources using headings according to the Medical Subject Headings MeSH list of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. This index is called Index Medicus for the WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR).
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is the specialized international health agency for the Americas. It works with countries throughout the region to improve and protect people's health.
WHOLIS: South-East Asia
Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR) is a database of articles published in selected journals within the WHO South-East Asia Region. It is a collaborative effort of participating libraries in Health Literature, Library and Information Services (HELLIS) network in the region.