Skip to main content
University of Michigan
Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan Library
Online Music Scores
Search this Guide
Online Music Scores
This is a guide to online sources for digital copies of music scores.
General Score Collections
Sheet Music Collections
Digital Scores: Composer-Specific Collections
Bach: Werke (IMSLP)
A digitized version of Bach's complete works, published from 1851 to 1899 by the Bach-Gesellschaft and Breitkopf & Härtel.
Beethoven-Haus Bonn: Digital Archives
Provides scanned images of manuscripts and early editions of Beethoven’s works, as well as letters, photographs, and other related documents.
Beethoven: Werke (IMSLP)
A digitized version of Beethoven's complete works, published from 1864 to 1890 by Breitkopf & Härtel.
Brahms-Institut: Digitale Bestände
This German-language site of the Brahms-Institut in Lübeck provides scanned images of first and early editions of Brahms’s works.
Chopin: Early Editions (University of Chicago)
Includes digitized images of over 400 first and early printed editions of Chopin's compositions.
Handel: Werke (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)
An online version of the Händel-Gesellschaft edition of Handel’s complete works, produced by Chrysander between 1858 and 1902.
Liszt: Musikalische Werke (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)
A digitized version of Liszt’s Musikalische Werke, a complete edition published by Breitkopf & Härtel from 1907 through 1936.
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Werke (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)
A digitized version of Mendessohn’s complete works, as edited by Julius Rietz and published by Breitkopf & Härtel in 1874-77.
Mozart: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe (Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum & Packard Humanities Institute)
A digitized version of the musical text and critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.
Nielsen: Carl Nielsen Edition (Danish Centre for Music Publication)
Allows free downloads of selected scores from the complete Nielsen Edition.
Schubert: Manuskripte (Wienbibliothek im Rathaus)
Contains digital reproductions of more than 500 autograph scores and letters of Franz Schubert. Site can be viewed in German or English.
Schubert: Werke (IMSLP)
A digitized version of Schubert's complete works, as published by Breitkopf & Härtel from 1884 through 1897.
Schumann: Autographs (Bonn University Library)
Provides digital scans of selected Schumann musical autographs, as well as sketchbooks and correspondence.
Schumann: Werke (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)
A digital reproduction of the Breitkopf & Härtel edition of Schumann's complete works edited by Clara Schumann and published from 1879 to 1893.