Research Guides: Graduate Library Reference Collection Resources: Article Databases

Large-scale, multi-disciplinary databases that describe and provide access to journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles.

Article Databases: General

U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new window
Use Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly journals, industry periodicals, general interest magazines and newspapers.

JSTOR
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage varies by journal title, but all are from the first issue up to 3 to 10 years before the current year.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.
more...less...
Coverage, 1980-present, but varies by title.

OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from 2,700+ journals and periodicals from across all disciplines and fields.

Project Muse
Full-text access to many scholarly journals and books in the arts & humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by university presses.
ProQuest
Combined access to 88 databases of journal, magazine & newspaper content with millions of articles, including ProQuest Research Library, ABI/INFORM Complete, Periodicals Index Online, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Article Databases: International

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to western-language periodical articles and books published pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature) This link opens in a new window
A multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Index Islamicus
Indexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, and other collections in European languages. Includes coverage in the arts and humanities, history, and social sciences topics, from 1906-present.
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes articles, notes, etc. in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays on all aspects of medieval studies from 450 to 1500 for all of Europe, plus the Middle East and North Africa when controlled by Christians.
more...less...
Coverage, 1967-present.

PASCAL and FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Indexes 4,200 European-language journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities & social sciences, 1972-2015.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 7,000 arts, humanities & social science journals in European languages, from their first issues through 2000.

Article Databases: Multicultural

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues, including scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations drawn from more than 400 journals, primarily in Spanish or English, which cover Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center journals module: an index to over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes the popular and scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender community.

Citation-tracking databases

Multidisciplinary databases which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Allows citation trails to be traced forward in time.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical & social sciences, and humanities.

Last Updated: Nov 22, 2024 6:34 PM

Subjects: General Information Sources