- University of Michigan Library
- Research Guides
- Mongolian Studies
- Reference Works (Dictionaries & Bibliographies)
Mongolian Studies
Online Bibliographies
Annotated Bibliography of the History and Culture of Eastern Turkistan, Jungharia/Zungaria/Dzungaria, Chinese Central Asia, and Sinkiang/Xinjiang
(for the 16th-20th centuries CE, excluding most travel narratives)
A lengthy list of resources compiled by Nathan Light (presently Uppsala University, Sweden) for the Silkroad Foundation. Has an emphasis on works produced in English and other Western European languages.
Bibliography of Mongol Studies
Compiled by Michael J. Bechtel (Department of History, Philosophy and Religious Studies at Nazarbayev University)
Another sizable list of resources compiled by one research specialist.
Toyo Bunko - The Oriental Library (Tokyo), Mongolian Sources Online Search
Dictionaries
While some important and representative dictionaries are highlighted below, there are a great many more in our library holdings, including some specialized dictionaries, for instance. The following links lead to library catalog search results containing multiple dictionaries.
Various Mongolian dictionaries
Buriat dictionaries
Kalmyk dictionaries
Oirat dictionaries
Tuvinian (Tuvan) dictionaries
English-Mongolian dictionaries (Mongol-Angli tol')
Chinese-Mongolian dictionaries (Many of these are in fact polyglot dictionaries, including languages like Manchu, Japanese, and/or Tibetan)
Russian-Mongolian dictionaries
The "Pentaglot" : Auf Kaiserlichen Befehl Erstelltes Worterbuch des Manjurischen in Funf Sprachen by Call Number: PL 476 .Y94 A84 2013ISBN: 9783447069700Publication Date: 2013-08-01English summary: "Der funfsprachige Worterspiegel" (The Compendium of Five Languages) is the most comprehensive multilingual dictionary of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) and was probably compiled between 1790 and 1794. Arranged according to subject categories, it covers 18.671 lexemes in the languages Manchurian, Tibetan, Mongolian, Turki and Chinese. The dictionary provides deep insights into the physical, intellectual, administrative and linguistic world of the Qing Empire. It comprises one of the largest known collections of transcriptions for Tibetan and Turki. In terms of its scope and historical significance it is probably regarded as the standard and unrivalled work on multilingual lexicography of the Qing period. This edition features a critical text commentary, as well as German translations and annotation along with extensive notes on the sources of the vocabulary and the etymology of the Turki material.
Dictionnaire Mongol-Russe-Francais, 3 vols by Call Number: PL 406 .K88 1941Publication Date: 1844-1849The full text of this three-volume dictionary is available in HathiTrust, via the library catalog record linked above.
Materials for an Oirat-Mongolian to English Citation Dictionary by Call Number: PL 429.4 .K94Publication Date: 1978
Print Bibliographies
Bibliographies constitute comprehensive records of the sources or scholarship produced in a certain place and/or period of time. As such, they can be invaluable resources for researchers.
As with the dictionaries, we link to a few individual bibliographies farther down, but those are a mere sampling of the number and variety of bibliographies available. The links immediately below capture the genre's broader scope.
"National Bibliographies"
Like Mongolia itself, the heavily Mongol republics in Russia do not currently produce a national bibliography. However, the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign's International and Area Studies Library has produced useful lists of existing resources and strategies for getting at the content that such bibliographies would contain:
National Bibliography of Buriatiia
National Bibliography of Kalmykiia
National Bibliography of Tyva (Tuva)
In the U-M Library
Many additional bibliographies can be found using U-M's Library Search (catalog) with the proper search techniques. The following links lead to lists of catalog results. The bibliographies therein span languages and are diverse in thematic scope.
Mongolia/Mongols
Specifically Russian-language bibliographies on Mongolia/Mongols
Sample Bibliographies
The following examples are meant to introduce the sometimes surprising variety of bibliographies available.
Монголын нууц товчооны ном зуй, судлалын тойм (Mongolian) = Bibliography and Survey of Studies on the Secret History of the Mongols by
Call Number: SPDQ E 042879Publication Date: 1990
Библиография отечественных работ по монголоведению 1946-2000 гг. = A bibliography of domestic works in Mongolian Studies, 1946-2000 by Call Number: DS 798 .B65 2005ISBN: 9785020184862Publication Date: 2005
蒙古相關古籍文獻圖錄 = Illustrated Catalogue of Ancient Mongolian Books and DocumentsCall Number: Z 3125 .M46 2016ISBN: 9789576786198Publication Date: 2016Annotated Catalogue of the Collection of Mongolian Manuscripts and Xylographs MI of the Institute of Mongolian, Tibetan and Buddhist Studies of Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences by
Call Number: Z 6605 .M65 T78 2004ISBN: 9784901449229Publication Date: 2004
Азиатский Музей — Институт восточных рукописей РАН: путеводитель = Asian Museum—The Institute of Oriental Manuscripts RAN: A Guide by Call Number: DS 32.9 .R9 A95 2018ISBN: 9785990794597Publication Date: 2018
Digital Tools
Mongolian font
Download traditional Mongolian unicode fonts and applications for your various Windows, Mac OS, Apple iOS, and Android devices.Download traditional Mongolian unicode fonts and applications for your various Windows, Mac OS, Apple iOS, and Android devices.
Bolor Toli Dictionary (English, Mongolian Cyrilic, Traditional Script)
Tuvan-English Talking Dictionary
Online dictionary featuring 8309 entries, 2980 audio files, and 180 images.