Research Guides: Russian Federation's Invasion of Ukraine: Library Resources

Media Monitoring

Integrum Profi

This monitoring service gathers print, television, and radio news media from across Russia and Eastern Europe. Search thousands of source by keyword. Translations into English available.

Searching the Library Catalog

The Catalog is the definitive place for finding materials held by the U-M Library. To find materials on recent Ukrainian history and its relations with Russia, the following subject searches are recommended:

Ukraine -- History -- 21st century

Ukraine Conflict, 2014-

Ukraine -- Politics and government -- 1991-

Ukraine -- Foreign relations -- Russia (Federation)

Russia (Federation) -- Foreign relations -- Ukraine

Russians -- Ukraine -- Crimea -- History

Crimea (Ukraine) -- Annexation to Russia (Federation)

Crimea (Ukraine) -- History -- 2014-

Specialized Databases

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) Online This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the U.S. and Canada.
Central and Eastern European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of sources pertaining to the study of central and eastern Europe.
Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1949, each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research.
Central and Eastern European Online Library This link opens in a new window
An online archive which provides access to full text articles from 184 humanities and social science journals pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Universal Database of Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of over 40 of the major newspapers or serials published in Russia, the Soviet Union, or its successor states.
.

Journals

Krytyka (Критика),

ISSN: 1563-6461
Offers in-depth analysis of Ukrainian current affairs, culture, and literature. The link above provides U-M affiliates access to full issues of the journal through the EBSCO database, while Krytyka's website features some open access commentary on the current situation in Ukraine.

East/West: Journal of Ukranian Studies

ISSN: 2292-7956
Humanities and social sciences journal with a thematic focus on matters such as geopolitics, culture, collective identities and nationalism, dominant and subordinate cultures within Ukraine and its environs. U-M affiliates can conduct targeted searches of the journal's contents in the EBSCO database linked above, while articles are also available for public download on the journal's website.

Harvard Ukrainian Studies

ISSN: 0363-5570
Brief description