Skip to Main Content
Library Research Guides

Russian Federation's Invasion of Ukraine

Provides resources related to the Russian Federation's invasion of Ukraine, initiated on 24 February 2022.

Appeal to US Gov't.

Financial Donations

The following organizations have a track record of providing vital aid to Ukraine. Most are currently raising funds to support those in need on the ground in Ukraine, while a few focus on investing in the country's future:

GENERAL HUMANITARIAN AID, EMERGENCY RESPONSE

  • People in Need: SOS Ukraine provides food and sanitation packages, emergency shelter, psychosocial support, and more in Donetsk and Luhansk.
     
  • UN Crisis Relief: Ukrainian Humanitarian Fund: Contributions are collected into a single, unearmarked fund and managed locally under UN leadership. As crises evolve, funds are made directly and immediately available to a wide range of partner organizations at the front lines of response. This way, funding reaches the people most in need when they need it.
     
  • Caritas Ukraine provides humanitarian assistance to various social groups and those impacted by the conflict.
     
  • Help Us Help: While the present priority is distribution of Individual First Aid Kits (IFAKs), donations to this group can be used to support the evacuation and relocation of staff and beneficiaries (children, scholars and veteran families), humanitarian aid delivery, and medical assistance for victims.
     
  • Serhiy Zhadan Charitable Foundation (part of Razom): A non-profit registered in Ukraine, supports a variety of educational, cultural and healthcare initiatives in the Ukrainian East, to help the communities ravaged by war feel an essential part of Ukrainian society.

 

MEDICAL SUPPORT

  • NGO Come Back Alive provides material and technical assistance to the Ukrainian Armed Forces.
  • Sunflower of Peace provides for medical assistance and other necessities. Each IFAK (medical backpack) can save up to 10 lives.
    •  
  • United Help Ukraine provides medical supplies to injured soldiers and supports widows.
     
  • Razom Inc.: provides medical equipment and training, fosters civic engagement amongst Ukrainians.
     
  • Revived Soldiers Ukraine provides medical aid and sustainable living standards to wounded soldiers and members of their families.
     
  • Hospitallers: The medical battalion "Hospitalieri" is not funded by the state and carries out its service on the front at the expense of the donations of ordinary Ukrainians, help of caring people from abroad, volunteers and patrons.

 

VETERANS AND DISPLACED PERSONS

  • Help Wounded Ukrainian Soldiers (via Nova Ukraine): provides medical rehabilitation to wounded Ukrainian soldiers with serious spinal trauma.
     
  • Lifeline Ukraine provides psychosocial support. Ukraine’s first suicide prevention hotline mobilized in response to alarming rates of veteran suicide.

 

VULNERABLE POPULATIONS (WOMEN, CHILDREN, INTERNALLY DISPLACED PERSONS)

  • Nova Ukraine: provides humanitarian aid to vulnerable groups and individuals in Ukraine.
  • Project Kesher: provides support to women and girls and to those of Jewish background.
     
  • Ukrainian People With Disabilities in Crisis supports Ukrainians with disabilities protect themselves in case of emergency. Presently its focus is on those unable to evacuate.
     
  • British-Ukraine Aid offers assistance to vulnerable individuals who have been physically, mentally or socially disadvantaged, including the injured and wounded, orphaned children, the elderly, internally displaced persons and families who have lost their main earners.
     
  • Save the Children - Ukraine distributes essential humanitarian aid to children and their families; deliver winter and hygiene kits; provide cash grants to families so they can meet basic needs like food, rent and medicines; provide access to safe, inclusive, quality education; work to help children overcome the mental and psychological impacts of conflict.
     
  • Voices of Children provides psychological/psychosocial support for children affected by the war. Donate to the group here.

 

INDEPENDENT MEDIA

 

EDUCATION

  • Ukrainian Leadership Academy: An educational program that aims to develop a generation of young leaders for Ukraine and the world. Over the course of a gap year, young adults learn to work in a team, set goals, develop projects, take responsibility for their lives and the
    country's fate, and choose their future profession more consciously.
     
  • Ukrainian Catholic University Foundation: Invest in the lives of young and talented future leaders of Ukraine and the diaspora.
     
  • Veteranius (part of Razom): An initiative that aims to help veterans, volunteers and internally displaced persons to try, learn and gain work experience in IT. The goal is to not just teach, but to employ and involve participants in socially important projects.
     
  • Bohdan Radchenko Stipend for Veterans (part of Razom): Razom for Ukraine together with Institute of Gender Studies and the Kyiv-Mohyla American Foundation provide highly motivated and accomplished Ukrainian veterans with a possibility to gain Master’s degree in the specialization of their choice. Bohdan Radchenko Stipend for Veterans covers tuition of a Master’s program at the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy (KMA), Kyiv School of Economics (KSE) and Ukrainian Catholic University (UCU).

Translation Opportunities

War in Translation

A crowdsourcing effort to amplify the voices of Ukrainians and Russians to English-speaking audiences.

 

Respond: Crisis Translation

Volunteers provide translation and interpretation services for refugees and asylum seekers. The coalition works with NGOs, human rights groups and lawyers, clinics, activist collectives, therapists, nonprofits, and school networks.

Support for Ukrainian Scholars