Literature Reviews

https://chat.openai.com

• The knowledge cutoff for the ChatGPT 3.5 is September 2021 and it has no access to the Internet. Academic users may consider alternatives such as Semantic Scholar, Elicit, Consensus or other AI-powered tools for doing real-time literature reviews.
• Input/ Output length - ChatGPT-3.5 allows a maximum token limit of 4096 tokens. According to ChatGPT "On average, a token in English is roughly equivalent to 4 bytes or characters. English words are typically around 5 characters long. This means that, very roughly, you could fit around 800 to 1000 English words within 4096 tokens." 
• Notes: (1) According to ChatGPT, the generated responses are non-deterministic by default. So if you run the searches again and get slightly or very different results than the ones listed on this guide, it's likely due to this factor. (2) While ChatGPT or Bing Chat searches offer conversational interaction, they might not be a substitute for the rigor and reliability of traditional academic database searches.
   

KEYWORD GENERATION

Write a literature review abstract based on the following keywords: Keywords: Artificial Intelligence, Employment Trends, Skill Development, Future Workforce

• Example -  SYNONYMS
  What are the synonyms of infant mortality?

  Infant death
  Neonatal mortality (referring specifically to deaths within the first 28 days of life)
  Perinatal mortality (referring to deaths occurring during the period from 22 completed weeks of gestation to 7 completed days after birth)
  Early childhood mortality (referring to deaths occurring within the first five years of life)
  Child mortality (referring to deaths occurring before the age of 18)
  [Press the Regenerate button to get more.]

• Example -  RELATED WORDS
  What are the related words of infant mortality?

Neonatal mortality, Post-neonatal mortality, Stillbirths, Low birth weight, Malnutrition, Infectious diseases, Vaccination, Maternal health,  Access to healthcare, Poverty, Social inequality, Sanitation, Hygiene, Water quality, Childbirth complications, Congenital abnormalities, Birth defects, Maternal age, Under-five mortality, Child mortality, Perinatal mortality, Preterm birth, Low birth weight, Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), Maternal mortality, Postnatal care, Malnutrition, Immunization, Access to healthcare, Clean water and sanitation, Congenital anomalies, Infant health disparities, Infant mortality rate (IMR), Infant survival.
 

• Example of Searching with SUBJECT TERMS & KEYWORDS
  Show me a search string that combines the use of PubMed MeSH terms and keywords on the factors of infant mortality
   

  (("Infant Death"[Mesh] OR "Sudden Infant Death Syndrome"[Mesh] OR "Infant Mortality"[Mesh] OR "Perinatal Mortality"[Mesh] OR "Neonatal Mortality"[Mesh] OR "Fetal Mortality"[Mesh] OR "Infant Death" OR "Sudden Infant Death Syndrome" OR "Infant Mortality" OR "Perinatal Mortality" OR "Neonatal Mortality" OR "Fetal Mortality") AND ("Risk Factors"[Mesh] OR "Etiology"[Mesh] OR "Prevention and Control"[Mesh] OR "Interventions"[Mesh] OR "Public Health"[Mesh] OR "Health Disparities"[Mesh] OR "Healthcare Disparities"[Mesh] OR "Poverty"[Mesh] OR "Malnutrition"[Mesh] OR "Infection"[Mesh] OR "Congenital Abnormalities"[Mesh] OR "Prematurity"[Mesh] OR "Low Birth Weight"[Mesh] OR "Maternal Education"[Mesh] OR "Maternal Health"[Mesh] OR "Risk Factors" OR "Etiology" OR "Prevention and Control" OR "Interventions" OR "Public Health" OR "Health Disparities" OR "Healthcare Disparities" OR "Poverty" OR "Malnutrition" OR "Infection" OR "Congenital Abnormalities" OR "Prematurity" OR "Low Birth Weight" OR "Maternal Education" OR "Maternal Health"))

• Comments and Suggestions:
  #1 -This search string may not work on all database platforms. For example, Medline (OVID) may not be able to run it, Medline & CINAHL (EBSCO) can run it without any problems while PubMed will run it but it will indicate which MeSH terms are not indexed. See PubMed's search History and Details under Advanced.
  #2 -This is just one possible search string and you may need to adjust it based on your specific research questions and the databases you are using.
  #3 - It might be easier if you break the task into 3 parts: ask the chatbot give you the synonyms > ask it to give you the thesauri terms > and ask it to combine them.

RESEARCH QUESTION

• Examples - RESEARCH QUESTION
  What are the effects of maternal smoking on infant mortality?

  Increased risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS)
  Increased risk of premature birth
  Increased risk of low birth weight
  Increased risk of respiratory problems in newborns
  Increased risk of respiratory problems in infants exposed to secondhand smoke
  Increased risk of developing asthma and other respiratory illnesses later in life for infants exposed to secondhand smoke
  
  Please generate a literature review that addresses the research question: 'What are the effects of social media on the mental health of adolescents?
  
  [Author's note: If you ask for the specific studies, ChatGPT may generate non-existent references or false knowledge. To find out why Large Language Models hallucinate, check out this WiKi article: Hallucination (artificial intelligence) and this blog post -  A Gentle Introduction to Hallucinations in Large Language Models by Adrian Tam ]

DATABASE RECOMMENDATIONS 

Heath Science - Which databases to use to find articles on the EFFECTS OF MATERNAL SMOKING ON INFANT DEATH?

PubMed: This is a database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine. It includes articles from medical journals and other sources on a wide range of health-related topics.
Embase: This is a database of biomedical literature that covers more international and pharmaceutical content than PubMed. It includes articles from medical journals and other sources on a wide range of health-related topics.
Cochrane Library: This is a collection of databases that provides systematic reviews and meta-analyses of healthcare interventions, including interventions related to maternal smoking and infant death.
Scopus: This is a multidisciplinary database that covers research from a wide range of fields, including health sciences. It includes articles from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Web of Science: This is a database that covers research from a wide range of fields, including health sciences. It includes articles from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
CINAHL: This is a database of nursing and allied health literature, including articles on maternal smoking and infant death.
[Note: The response above was copied and pasted directly from ChatGPT. No editing was added.]

Education -- I am doing a meta-analysis on k-12 STEM education. What databases should I use?

ERIC: This is a database of education research and information, including articles from journals, reports, and conference papers. It is a commonly used database for educational research.
Education Source: This is a comprehensive database of education research and information, including articles from journals, books, and conference papers.
Web of Science: This is a multidisciplinary database that covers research from a wide range of fields, including education. It includes articles from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Scopus: This is another multidisciplinary database that covers research from a wide range of fields, including education. It includes articles from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
PsycINFO: This is a database of psychology research, including articles from journals, books, and dissertations. It can be useful for research on STEM education that includes psychological factors.
Cochrane Library: This is a collection of databases that provides systematic reviews and meta-analyses of healthcare interventions including interventions related to education.

• Example: ACT-AS-AN-EXPERT PROMPT
  Here's an alternative way to consolidate all the questions into a single consultation by using this popular Act-As-An-Expert prompt, aka, system message prompt:
   I am going to conduct a systematic review on games and mathematics related to K-12 education  I want you to act as a systematic review expert. I will ask you some questions related to my research topic and you advise me on how to do it. 

GREY LITERATURE 

Please show me all the resources that offer grey literature for conducting research in the field of education
    ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): https://eric.ed.gov/
    OpenGrey: http://www.opengrey.eu/
    British Education Index: https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/british-education-index
    WorldCat: https://www.worldcat.org/
    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: https://www.proquest.com/products-services/pqdtglobal.html
    EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service): https://ethos.bl.uk/
    Institutional Repositories of universities and academic institutions (search for specific institution repositories)
    American Educational Research Association (AERA): https://www.aera.net/
    National Education Association (NEA): https://www.nea.org/
    Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD): http://www.ascd.org/
    RAND Corporation: https://www.rand.org/
    National Center for Education Research (NCER): https://ies.ed.gov/ncer/
    National Center for Education Statistics (NCES): https://nces.ed.gov/
    European Educational Research Association (EERA): https://www.eera-ecer.de/
    UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP): http://www.iiep.unesco.org/
    Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD): https://www.oecd.org/education/
    Education Development Center (EDC): https://www.edc.org/
    National Institute for Educational Policy Research (NIER) - Japan: https://www.nier.go.jp/
    Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER): https://www.acer.org/
    Canadian Education Association (CEA): https://www.cea-ace.ca/

My topic is about stem education. Which grey literature databases should I use?
   STEM Education Research Centre (SERC) Grey Literature Database
   National STEM Education Research Repository (NSERR)
   National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
   STEM Education Resource Center (SERC) GrayLit Network
   STEM Education Grey Literature Library

MORE RESOURCES