This is the "Introduction" page of the "Electronic Books (e-Books)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Electronic Books (e-Books)   Tags: books, ebooks, electronic books, ereader, kindle, nook  

Information about e-Book readers and e-Book collections available to University of Michigan faculty, staff, and students.
Last Updated: May 24, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide Contents

Introduction

  • Introduction to e-Books
  • Popular e-Book Collections

e-Books

  • Finding e-Books using Mirlyn
  • Finding e-Book Databases
  • External e-Book Sources

e-Audiobooks

  • Finding e-Audiobooks
  • Free e-Audiobook Sources

Help and Troubleshooting

  • Getting Help
  • Troubleshooting e-Books
  • Your e-Reader and Library e-Books
  • e-Readers and File Formats
 

Library Help

Our Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

Introduction to e-Books

e-Books in our Library

Are you interested in reading electronic books on your computer, e-reader, or mobile device? As a University of Michigan student, faculty member, or staff member, you have access to a number of e-book resources.

This guide highlights some of our more popular e-book collections and addresses common questions about downloading and troubleshooting. If you have any questions, please contact the librarians listed within this guide.

 

Popular e-Book Collections

Cover Art
ebrary Academic Complete

A growing and changing collection of 70,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas.
View more information about ebrary Academic Complete


Cover Art
EBSCOhost e-Book Collection (formerly NetLibrary)

A collection of over 28,000 electronic books on all topics that includes 800+ editions of computer manuals, reference books, and other books placed on course reserve.
View more information about EBSCOhost e-Book Collection


Cover Art
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online)

Includes access to 2,000+ books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers. Coverage is strong for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields.
View more information about ScienceDirect


Cover Art
Safari Books Online

Includes full text of technical books from O'Reilly & Associates and The Pearson Technology Group (including Addison-Wesley, Alpha, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que and Sams) and other publishers.
View more information about Safari Books Online


Cover Art
Springer Complete English/International eBook Collection

Provides online full-text access to over 40,000 books in all subject areas published by Springer, one of the world's largest academic publishers.
View more information about Springer Complete eBook Collection


Cover Art
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
View more information about Wiley Online Library


Library Contact

Profile Image
Lisa Campbell
Contact Info
The University of Michigan
209 Hatcher Graduate Library N.
913 S. University
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
Send Email

Pam's Profile

Profile Image
Pam MacKintosh
Contact Info
Coordinator, Undergraduate Library Reference Services
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
University of Michigan
2178 Shapiro Undergraduate Library
919 South University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185
Send Email
Subjects:
Economics
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip