This subject guide provides a starting point for research in public policy.
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2013
The Mirlyn online catalog lets you search the University of Michigan Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, and electronic resources.
- MGet it, Using Mirlyn, Deep Blue
Provide information about how to use MGet it, Mirlyn, and Deep Blue.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Full text of conference proceedings, think tank articles, some journals, and working papers on international affairs.
- OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes full-text of all books, papers, 24 periodicals and OECD statistical databases. Includes access to International Energy Agency (IEA) statistical books but not IEA databases. UM user only.
- The World Bank eLIbrary
Provides the comprehensive and fully searchable collection of the World Bank's books and policy research working papers.
- Encyclopedia of Public Policy
Printed version of encyclopedia with regard to public policy. UM user only.
- Encyclopedia of leadership
4 volume encyclopedia including biographies, case studies, leadership styles, situational factors, theories and concepts of leadership. Both online version and printed version available. UM Users Only.
- Google Scholar (with MGet It Links)
The Google Scholar search engine that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of MGet IT links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and science.
- Public Affairs Index (PAI)
It is a bibliographic database covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. PAI provides excellent coverage of the literature from 1970 to present. In addition, it includes selective indexing for articles published between 1934 and 1969.
- Public Administration Abstracts
Journal and magazine index of areas related to public administration, including public administration research, theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. UM User Only.
- Political Science Complete
PSC provides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals,and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
EconLit contains abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, books, working papers, etc. in the field of economics, published from 1969 to the present. Limited to authorized UM users.
- PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service
Over 450,000 journal articles, books, and other documents covering public affairs worldwide. Coverage begins in 1972. Printed version collection is in the Graduate Library stacks as Z 7163 .P98. UM users only.
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses (Duke, Hawaii, Indiana, MIT, Penn State, etc.).
These subscription journals are accessible to UM users only
- Climate Policy
Focuses on topics with regard to environmental policy, climate change, rural development, and economic models.
Focuses on topics related to executive politics, public policy, administration, and the organization of state. It also emphasizes international or comparative approach to public policy and administration.
- Journal of European Social Policy
Publish articles quarterly on all aspects of social policy in Europe, including ageing, pensions, and social security, poverty and social exclusion, education, training and labor market policies, family policies, health and social care services, gender, migration, privatization and Europeanization.
- Journal of Policy Analysis and Management (JPAM)
Focused on topics with regard to policy analysis, public management, economics, policy research, program evaluation, policy making, and public management reform.
- Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Serves as a bridge between public administration and public management scholarship on the one hand and public policy studies on the other. Its multidisciplinary aim is to advance the organizational, administrative, and policy sciences as they apply to government and governance.
- Journal of Social Issues
Focuses on a single topic-recent issues, for example, have addressed poverty, housing and health; privacy as a social and psychological concern; youth and violence; and the impact social class on education.
- Journal of Social Policy
Focuses on articles which seek to contribute to debates on the future direction of social policy, to present new empirical data, to advance theories, or to analyse issues in the making and implementation of social policies.
- Philosophy and Public Affairs
Focuses on philosophical discussion of substantive legal, social, and political problems.
- Policy Studies Journal
Focuses on the theoretically and empirically grounded research on policy process and policy analysis.
- Politics & Society (P&S)
Focuses on the theory of the state, class analysis, politics of gender, methodological individualism and rational choice, and the future of capitalism and socialism
- Public Administration
Focuses on public administration, public policy and public management. A high percentage of articles are sourced from the enlarging Europe and cover all aspects of West and East European public administration.
- Public Administration Review (PAR)
Bi-monthly professional journal. Focuses on public administration, including the public sector and public sector management. Articles identify and analyze current trends, and provide a factual basis for decision making.