Best Background Sources
Find overviews of topics, theorists, schools of thought--including lists of the best articles and books to consult for further research.
- 21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook
- Annual Review of Psychology
- Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 4th edition
- Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
- APA Handbooks of Psychology
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
Click here to find more reference books
Best Places to Find Psychology Articles
Premier gateway to the international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Contains more than three million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports, with coverage back to the 1600s.
- PubMed with MGetIt Links
The National Library of Medicine's database covering the international journal literature of biomedicine, including psychiatry and many journals in various ares of psychology. This link to PubMed includes "MGet It" links to full text or Interlibrary Loan.
- ISI Web of Science
Web of Science contains the Social Science Citation Index and the Science Citation Index, among other content. It covers the top journals in each field, and may be searched by keyword, author, journal title, and more. Use it to find articles that CITE a known item, are CITED BY a known item, or SHARE CITATIONS WITH a known item.
The most comprehensive index of articles available from the library--over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines, in all subjects, including sociology, with "MGet It" links to full text. It's like Google for the library's online content, but without the ads!
- Google Scholar (with "Availability at UMichigan" links)
Search engine for scholarly works, with "Availability at UMichigan" links (powered by "MGet It") that connect to full text, automated searching of U-M's Mirlyn catalog, automated completion of requests for delivery services, etc.
Click here for more article databases
Best Places to Find Psychology Books
Recent Psychology Articles by UM Authors
This is a list of recently published peer-reviewed articles by UM Department of Psychology authors. [Powered by Scopus]