This is the "United States" page of the "Finding Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Finding Statistics   Tags: government, government_information, government_politics_and_law, statistical_facts_and_figures, statistics, statistics_and_data_sets  

Find statistics produced by government on a wide variety of topics.
Last Updated: May 13, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/govstatistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

United States Print Page
  Search: 
 

Mapping Data

  • Amercian Factfinder  
      
    American FactFinder is an online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Users can create thematic maps from teh table view of a product. For more information, please read More information section.
  • Geodata
    This database is part of Data.gov.
  • ProQuest Statistical Data Sets
    Provide map charts for some statistical data sets.
  • Simply Map
    SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. To access data, a user need to create a personal account. UM User Only

  • Social Explorer
    Social Explorer provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports based on decennial censuses of 1940 to 2010.


  • Geospatial Data Resources Research Guides

US Statistics

The United States government produces a large amount of data.  A list of agencies that compile statistics can be found here

  • Data.gov
    It is US government portal for data including geospatial data. Provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datastes.
  • FDTF's Government Statistics by Topic
    US government statistics organized by topic from the Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF) of the American Library Association
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
    A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Tables can be downloaded in Excel or CSV format.

  • ProQuest Statistical Data Sets
    Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.

  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Formerly called LexisNexis Statistical, ProQuest Statistical Insight indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications.

  • Social Explorer
    Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports. It is important to remember that it can be difficult to map demographic data over time, since the questions asked and methods used have not remained consistent.
  • The 2012 Statistical Abstract
    Provides the summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United states. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations. 2012 Statistical Abstract is the last year for this publication. To see editions from 1878-2011, click "Earlier Editions" on the tab.
  • Guide to Sources of Statistics
    The list of agencies contributing data to the Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Catherine Morse
Contact Info
Government Information and Political Science Librarian
Clark Library
Hatcher Graduate Library 2 South 734-936-2333
Send Email
 

Site Feedback

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2010, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip