This is the "Library Services" page of the "Staying Informed in Social Work Practice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Staying Informed in Social Work Practice   Tags: social_work  

This guide offers resources and tips for keeping current with social work research for recent graduates and field instructors for the School of Social Work. It includes links to many free databases, government information and other resources.
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/stayinformed Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Guest Computers

  • Guest computers are available at Hatcher Graduate Library on the second floor. Instructions for logging in are available on the computer screen.
  • There are also several computers for guests at Shapiro Undergraduate Library on the first floor. Ask at the reference desk if you need assistance.
 

Access to RefWorks

Alumni can keep their RefWorks citation management accounts after graduation.

To obtain an alumni RefWorks account please contact refworkshelp@umich.edu. For additional information about how to manage your citations in RefWorks, see the RefWorks guide.

 

Using Copiers at the Library

Copiers are available at all locations when libraries are open. Alumni and Field Instructors may purchase copy coards at library circulation desks which can be used to make copies for 6 centers per page. To save money on copies materials can also be scanned to an email address using guest copiers. Instructions are available at the guest printers which are either on the first floor of Shapiro Undergraduate Library or the second floor of Hatcher Graduate Library. 

 

Library Services for Alumni & Field Instructors

Library Services Lost After Graduation...

  • After graduation from University of Michigan you will no longer have access to Library electronic databases and most online journals from off campus. Access to materials is always available by coming to a campus library and using a guest computer. 
  • Alumni can no longer check out materials for free from the library after graduation.

Continued Library Services...

  • Anyone is free to come in to any library location and use a guest login to find, read and print most online materials.
  • The Library offers a for-fee service called Michigan Information Transfer Source (MITS). This service allows anyone to order and receive copies of articles, book chapters or research reports for a fee. Contact the MITS office for more information.
  • Take advantage of your local public library for interlibrary loan. You may be able to request materials owned by large research libraries and have them delivered to your local library at little or no charge.
  • If you are moving out of Ann Arbor try visiting an academic library near your new location. Public universities allow visitors guest privileges which would enable you to search their library databases and read or print off or email full-text electronic articles at no charge.

Services for a Price...

  • For a fee of $125.00 annually you can register for alumni book borrowing privileges. This fee does not include access to online materials and library databases, however. Because of licensing agreements with publishers access is not available to online library materials once you have graduated.
  • If you join the University of Michigan Alumni Association you will have access to a limited number of library databases as part of this membership. See the Alumni Association web site for details.

 

Using ArticlesPlus as an Alumni

  • Alumni and those not affiliated with the University of Michigan may search many of our subscription databases together from off-campus without charge using ArticlesPlus. If you are not currently affiliated with the university you will only be allowed to see article citations and abstracts from ArticlesPlus. Full text will not be available unless you make a trip to the University of Michigan Library and use one of our guest computers. If you find a citation or article for your research you may also be able to request the article via Interlibrary Loan services from a public library in your area.

 

 

  For more detailed information on alumni library privileges see
Services for Alumni.

 

Library Contact

Profile Image
Sue Wortman
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
(734) 764-5198
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip