Social Work Practice: Staying Informed

Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Administration for Children & Families, the Child Welfare Information Gateway offers a library of articles on child welfare and adoption issues. Many but not all articles are available online for free. Some may need to be ordered or requested from your local library using interlibrary loan services.

An excellent freely available bibliographic database sponsored by the Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. Many of the top social work journals are indexed in ERIC and some articles are available as full-text PDF files. Others can be received by using interlibrary loan services from your local library.

The Green Book is published by the House Ways & Means Committee to provide background information and data on government programs under the jurisdiction of this committee. It includes succinct information on Social Security, Unemployment Insurance, Medicare, Social Services Block Grants and other benefits programs important to social work.

The Department of Health and Human Services provides this site to review and assess evidence of effectiveness of home visiting program models that target families with pregnant women and children from birth to age 5. It is a collection of research evidence and model programs related to home visits.

DataLab is a platform of web-based tools that provide the public with access to data collected by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).

This database contains summaries and citations for more than 200,000 publications on juvenile justice, family violence, drugs and crime, rape, gang crimes and other criminal justice issues. Citations are available from research reports, journal articles, books, and unpublished research. All research is available from the NCJRS Library, using either interlibrary loan or the library's fee-based photocopying service.

From the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: a searchable online registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers. As of July 5, 2010 this registry had 164 interventions reviewed.

The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to find demographic and economic information, data, and maps from U.S. Federal decennial censuses and the American Community Survey.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on migration, globalization, development, trade and aid, demographics, criminology, poverty reduction, gender issues, and more.

The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development aggregates data from national and international organizations, produces analyses and reports, and informs policy-makers on a wide-range of social and economic issues.

Offers international data related to migration, population, health, and economic well-being.

This collection provides access to research work on a wide range of topics including development, policy research, and social issues.