Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

SOC 100: Introduction to Sociology

A course guide for Soc 100, taught in Fall 2017 by Prof. Terence McGinn.

Full text with MGet It

Use the MGet It links in Sociological Abstracts and other databases to connect to the online full text of articles.

MGet It logo

Already have a citation? Use the MGet It Citation Linker.

Search for journals by title using the Online Journals page in Search Tools, or in the Mirlyn catalog.

If the library does not own the journal you need, submit an inter-library loan request for the article.

About this page

Scholarly books and journal articles will serve as the majority of your resources.

Use books and journal articles to find two kinds of information:

  • theoretical perspectives that have been applied to your issue
  • examples of empirical studies that have been done on your topic

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

  • The best resource for searching the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • Go to Advanced Search
  • Top box: enter terms that describe your social issue. Try a couple of different terms for your issue, e.g. racism OR discrimination
  • Other boxes: enter the terms for your population or institution. Put phrases in quotes, and put a different topic on each line.  Example:

  • Search.  When the results come back, you can limit your results to Scholarly articles and Books under Source Type on the right side of the screen.  
  • Click the article's title to see the full abstract and other information.  Click MGetIt to access the article or find out how to order it.

Explaining Library Databases (Video)

Where do research articles come from? How do they end up in your search results? This video has the answers.

Finding Books

Search for books on your topic:  

Additional resources

Other useful databases for sociology and other disciplines


How Do I Connect to a Database?

If you know the name of the database, you can connect to that database from the Library's home page.

In the gold Search box, type the name of the database in the input box. Click Go.

On the results page, click on the database name link, under the Databases section.

If you are off campus, you will be asked to log into the library system with your uniqname/password before you can connect to the database.