Coverage: 1874-present, fulltext availability and coverage varies by title
Indexes over 425 scholarly and popular music periodicals from more than twenty countries.
To find reviews, click on Search Articles. Type the musician's name, or title of the work, or other term of interest into the Keyword search box. Under Document Type, select Music Review from the list (you will have to click on the "Down" button to get all the way to "Music Review" and then click on the "Select" button).
Indexes over 425 scholarly and popular music periodicals from more than twenty countries, plus full text for around 140 journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 article records, the majority of which are journal articles from 1996 onward. Around 200,000 index records in IIMP Full Text are from the backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874. IIMP Full Text covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. You can find articles on a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians.
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers.
To find reviews, click on the News tab in the left sidebar, then click on the "All News" link. Type the name of the musician or piece of music in the search box and in the Article Type box, click on Music Reviews.
Contains articles from 850 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
To find reviews, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album), and then change the dropdown menu to Reviews & Products.
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and other literature, featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present. Formerly provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar.
Indexes journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many articles are available fulltext.
To find reviews, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album). Next, click on More Search Options and in the drop down menu for Document Type, select Review.
Combined access to 80+ ProQuest databases, including full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including: Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses. Among the included databases: ABI/INFORM, American Periodicals Series (APS), Environmental Science & Pollution Management, Ethnic NewsWatch, OxResearch, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Historical Annual Reports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Technology Collection, and Zoological Record Plus. Includes all databases previously accessed on the CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Illumina interface platform.
Comprehensive international guide to writings about music.
To find reviews, first click on the Advanced Search tab. Next, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album) and then click on "Publication Type" at the bottom of the page to choose the type of review(s) you would like to find (e.g., review of edition of music, or review of performance). Lastly, you will click on "Add to search" to return to the Advanced Search page.
International annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music periodicals published in seventeen countries.
To find reviews, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album), and under the box that says "Limit your results," select Review under Document Type.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950. Treating primary source material, RIPM indexes the content of complete runs of journals, including articles, reviews, news columns, miscellaneous items, surveys of the press, bibliographies, iconography and advertising. RIPM is updated biannually and currently indexes the contents of over 140 music periodicals from 20 countries.