HISTORY 195-003: Pleasure and Peril: Sex, Society, and the Emergence of the Modern City

Searchable primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newspapers, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, and posters.

Collection of magazines dating from 1940 to the present highlighting topics and trends of youth and popular culture.

Popular and scholarly materials, some of which can be used as primary sources.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Searchable archive comprising the full backfiles of 13 leading women’s interest consumer magazines.

Provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Custom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 30 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.

Catalog Search results will include everything in the University of Michigan Library physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.

Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

Indexes the popular & scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender/Queer community.

Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.

Online access to the 18th edition.