Biomedical Ontologies and Controlled Vocabularies

An upper level ontology to facilitate interoperability between existing anatomy ontologies for different species.

The Disease Ontology semantically integrates disease and medical vocabularies through extensive cross mapping of DO terms to MeSH, ICD, NCI’s thesaurus, SNOMED and OMIM.

A domain ontology that represents a coherent body of explicit declarative knowledge about human anatomy. Its ontological framework can be applied and extended to all other species.

A collaborative effort to address the need for consistent descriptions of gene products across databases. The GO represents information about biological processes, cellular components and molecular functions.

An ontology that represents phenotypic abnormalities encountered in human disease.

A set of interoperable ontologies covering the infectious disease domain. At the core of the set is a general Infectious Disease Ontology (IDO-Core) of entities relevant to both biomedical and clinical aspects of most infectious diseases. Sub-domain specific extensions of IDO-Core provide coverage of entities relevant to specific pathogens or diseases.

Concepts, definitions, terms, and resources for standardized description of microarray experiments.

A community effort to provide standard terms for annotating mammalian phenotypic data.

An integrated ontology for the description of life-science and clinical investigations.

A reference ontology for the annotation of the results of clinical trials.

An ontology based on the papers Toward an Ontological Treatment of Disease and Diagnosis and On Carcinomas and Other Pathological Entities. OGMS was formerly called the clinical phenotype ontology.

An ontology that can be used in conjunction with other ontologies such as GO or anatomical ontologies to refer to phenotypes.

An ontology to represent vaccine knowledge and support automated reasoning.

Maintained by the World Health Organization, ICD provides a system of diagnostic codes for classifying diseases, including nuanced classifications of a wide variety of signs, symptoms, abnormal findings, complaints, social circumstances, and external causes of injury or disease.

A database and universal standard for identifying medical laboratory observations, including medical laboratory code names, nursing diagnosis, nursing interventions, outcomes classification, and patient care data sets.

A hierarchical terminology for indexing and cataloging of biomedical information such as MEDLINE/PubMed and other National Library of Medicine databases.

A centrally maintained electronic drug list used by the VHA hospitals and clinics. Facilities use the NDF to check drug interactions, to manage orders, and to send outpatient prescriptions to regional automated mail-out pharmacies.

A standardized nomenclature for clinical drugs produced by the National Library of Medicine.

A systematically organized computer processable collection of medical terms providing codes, terms, synonyms and definitions used in clinical documentation and reporting. SNOMED CT provides the core general terminology for electronic health records, including clinical findings, symptoms, diagnoses, procedures, body structures, organisms and other etiologies, substances, pharmaceuticals, devices and specimens.

A set of files and tools maintained by the National Library of Medicine that brings together many health and biomedical vocabularies and standards to enable interoperability between computer systems.

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.