Library Contact
Finding Newspaper Articles
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowUse this link to search across digitized historical newspapers including The New York Times, Detroit Free Press, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, and more. You can also link into ProQuest by finding individual newspaper titles in Mirlyn.
- Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch across nine digitized African American newspapers including The Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, and more. Good 20th century coverage but dates vary by title.
- ProQuest Newsstand This link opens in a new windowSearch across current and recent U.S. newspapers. Includes same titles as ProQuest Historical and many more, updated to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch across a wide range of news sources, mostly covering 1980-present. Includes newspapers, web and wire news sources, and tv/radio news transcripts.
Finding Government Documents
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to books and government documents from U.S. research libraries. Provides full text access to items in the public domain, including most government documents. Includes congressional hearings and reports.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIncludes bills, laws, transcripts of published and unpublished hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, committee prints, the Congressional Record, and executive agency documents.
- American Presidency ProjectAn online archive of presidential speeches and addresses, debate transcripts, news conferences, executive orders, and more.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceOffice of Justice Programs
Legal History Sources
- Nexis UniNexis Uni allows you to search state, federal, and Supreme Court decisions. Click on "search by subject or topic" when you enter the database, then select "federal and state cases."
- LegalTracIndexes major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers covering U.S. federal and state cases, laws, government regulations & legal practice; British Commonwealth, European Union & international law; etc. Includes some full-text.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
Finding Scholarly Articles
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (with Full Text) This link opens in a new windowCovers 625 of the most important English-language journals across all the social sciences.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage of the international literature on criminology (incl. journals, books, reports, dissertations, and more).
Key Archives for History 366
- Labadie Subject Vertical FilesThis file allows you to browse ephemeral collections by subject or do a keyword search. Materials include flyers, leaflets, and clippings and are filed under topics such as: Civil Liberties, Prisons and Prisoners, Narcotics, and Marijuana.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new windowKeyword searchable database of digitized collections from the Library of Congress and the National Archives.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowDigitized collections include FBI surveillance records of civil rights and black power groups.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new windowFull text of Presidential, Executive Branch, and Congressional documents since World War II declassified under the Freedom of Information Act. Subjects include foreign relations, the Korean and Vietnam Wars, civil rights movement, assassinations, etc.
Chicago Manual of Style
- Chicago Manual of StyleQuick Citation Guide
Making Maps
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Historical Photographs
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 12 million photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire, plus audio clips & graphics.