Skip to main content

HathiTrust Digital Library

Provides overview and tips on using the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Library Contact

Karen A. Reiman-Sendi's picture
Karen A. Reiman-Sendi
Contact:
The University of Michigan
2178 Shapiro Library
919 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185
734-615-3958
Website

What is HathiTrust?

HathiTrust (pronounced hah-tee) is a "collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items." This organization provides reading access to a digital archive of books, journals and government documents -- called HathiTrust Digital Library -- many of which are in the public domain (available for full view). 

undefined

Access to HathiTrust Materials

There are multiple paths to find HathiTrust Digital Library items:

  • Use the Library Catalog Search. If a HathiTrust item is part of U-M's library collection of online materials, the information will be listed in the catalog record for that book title, under a "HathiTrust Digital Library" heading. If the work is available for full text viewing, a link labeled "Full Text" is displayed.
  • Use WorldCat (a combined world-wide library catalog). If a HathiTrust item is part of a library collection, a separate "location" of HathiTrust Digital Library will appear, with a link to the HathiTrust Digital Library catalog.
  • Use HathiTrust Digital Library directly. Searching the catalog or the full text are possible methods for finding the works or the content you seek.

The U-M Library is a partner in the HathiTrust Digital Library organization, which means that the U-M community member have additional access benefits, with a valid login (U-M uniqname and password). Click on the yellow LOG IN button near the top of the home page. At the "Find your partner institution" pop-up, select the "University of Michigan" and click on the yellow CONTINUE button.

undefined

 

Note: While library buildings are closed during the COVID-19 pandemic, some expanded access to HathiTrust materials is available. See HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Instructions guide for details.