Library Contact
About access to library resources
Tips for accessing library resources from off-campus. Most databases and other electronic resources are available from off-campus. Find instructions on how to download a browser extension or bookmark, or access the U-M VPN (Virtual Private Network).
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online)
Browse through hundreds of technology and business books, including data science.
Access O'Reilly for Higher Education
NOTE the login instructions. Once in the database, choose Explore - All Topics in the left side navigation, then Data (under Jump to a Topic), then Data Science.
Getting Started
Not sure where to start your search? Start with the library homepage to search for items in our library catalog, articles, databases, e-books, online journals and library website pages.
You can also view these short video tutorials:
Finding data science and technology articles
Note that these databases may provide both scholarly (generally speaking, peer-reviewed academic journal articles) and non-scholarly (written for a popular or professional audience) resources. Mainly articles, but might also include things like conference proceedings, book reviews, e-books, trade news, how-to manuals and more.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital LibraryFull-text archive of ACM publications, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters, as well as some publications by affiliated organizations.
- O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowOnline access to 40,000+ technical books, videos, tutorials, case studies, etc. from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other publishers.
- SkillSoft BooksUnlimited, full text access to business, technical and engineering e-books. Search for "data science".
- INSPECCovers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
- Computer Database (technology trade and business news)Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts and full text for over 600 leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications and electronic industries.
- ProQuest Technology CollectionThis database combines full text journals with indexing of global literature on technology and applied science, including computer science and electronic engineering.
- Computer and Information System AbstractsThis database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications from around the world, with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
- Science Citation Index (Web of Science)Key index to articles from major journals in all areas of science and technology. Use to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse).
- Stats!RefComprehensive reference resource of statistics fundamentals and applications across many fields.