Research Guides: Poverty Solutions: Finding Poverty Data

Sources for US, State and Local Data

data.census.gov
data.census.gov is an online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Users can create thematic maps from teh table view of a product.
more...less...
To creata a map, user must select at least 2 like geopgraphies (e.g. 2 or more states, or 2 or more counties) to map. Creat a Map tutorial is as follows: http://factfinder2.census.gov/help/en/tutorials/createmap_tut.htm.
County and City Data Book
1949 - 2007 in print and selected issues online. Census data on age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use
Data Driven Detroit
Provides regional data collection, storage and analysis firm, recognized by the Urban Institute as a National Neighborhood Indicators Partner.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports.

Poverty Data for Other Countries

World Development Indicators (World Bank)
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Bank’s subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers. Each article, book, and working paper is enriched with semantic and bibliographic metadata, including topics, regions, countries, abstracts and keywords using a controlled vocabulary. For public, elibrary permitted to search, view, and download all free publications within eLibrary. However, paid content is only available by UM users, so the pdfs will not appear for those publications.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture and rural development, aid effectiveness, climate change, economic policy and external debt, education, energy and mining, environment, financial sector, gender, health, infrastructure, labor& social protection, poverty, private sector, public sector, science and technology, social development, urban development.

Contents
-By country
-By topic
-Indicators
-Data Catalog
-Microdata

Data Format:
EXCEL, CSV, PDF
World Bank eLibrary
Online, fully searchable and browsable collection of over 3,900 World Bank documents. Includes over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,300 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture, community and human settlements, conflict and development, education, energy, environment, finance and financial sector development, gender, governance, health, nutrition and population, industry, information and communication technologies, infrastructure economics and finance, international economics & trade, Law and development, macroeconomics and economic growth, poverty reduction, private sector development, public sector development, rural development, science and technology development, social development, social protection and labor, transport, urban development, water resources, water supply and sanitation issues.

Data Format:
PDF
UN Data
Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. UM users only.
more...less...
Even though UNdata contains some trade data, it is not replacing COMTRADE. COMTRADE is a very comprehensive database for merchandise statistics containing around 1.5 billion trade records in 7 classifications up to 6 digit level of the Classification. UNdata contains only around 40 million trade records only in 2 digit HS 1992 classification and searchable only by reporters.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides general demographic data of federal government, state and local, and international level. Search abstract allows uses to search the abstracts of statistical publications from business and federal and state govrenment. This search engine provides outcomes based on keywords that users input. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
ProQuest

Main Users:
Students and faculties of various social science departments.

Contents
**More specific information please see LexisNexis Satistical Insight Guide book :
http://www.lnstatistical.com/help/statistical/LN%20guidebook.pdf

* Source : Three optional abstracts modules titled American Statistics Index (ASI), Statisitical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS) are available.

1) The American Statistics Index (ASI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents produced by the federal governments. (Coverage from 1973 onward)
2) The Statistical reference Index ( SRI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from state, local, university and private sources including professional and trade associations,
independent research organizations, and consumer and trade magazines. (Coverage from
1980 onward)
3) The Index to International Statistics (IIS) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from
approximately 100 international intergovernmental organizations, including the United Nations, the European Union, and development banks. (Coverage from 1983 onward)

* Data Breakdowns by
Age/ Commodity/ disease or cause of death/ educational attainment/ government agency/ income/ individual company or institution/ industry/ martial status/ occupation/
race and ethnic group/ sex/ urban rural and metro nonmetro

* Subject
Animals/ Business income and expenses/ Employment and unemployment/ Business firms and establishments, number/ Veterinary medicine/ Animal diseases and zoonoses/ Population characteristics/ Pet food and supplies/ Statistical compendia/ Firearms

Data Format:
PDF, GIF, and excel(XLS)
The abstracts and citations can be printed; Users can export search results to Endnote and Refworks.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
more...less...
Publisher:
The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for worldwide countries.

Contents

* The World Factbook

-World readers
- CIA Maps & Publications
- Historical Collection Publications

- Additional Publications

Last Updated: Jan 15, 2025 4:40 PM

Subjects: Government, Politics & Law, Social Sciences

Tags: social justice