Individual or Group Consultations
Fill out our consultation form!
Database Tutorials & Tip Sheets
The University of Michigan subscribes to several third-party funding databases that allow our researchers to search for funding opportunities across the globe. To make your next funding search easier, we've compiled a list of helpful tips and tricks for using our most popular funding databases.
Still need help navigating the databases? Get in touch with an information expert from the U-M Library who can help customize your search. You can also check out the workshops offered across campus.
Pivot Tutorials
Use Pivot to conduct a comprehensive search of grant opportunities from a variety of global resources, and set up a customized weekly email alert tailored to your research interests to be notified of new funding opportunities. Get started with Pivot by accessing the tutorials below.
-
Pivot Instructional VideosPivot's YouTube channel, featuring video tutorials on the various functions of Pivot. Topics range from getting started to advanced search tips.
Foundation Center Training
The Foundation Center offers detailed information about global funders, including funder priorities and geographic funding area. The Center provides a variety of training resources to advance your knowledge of the philanthropic sector and to acclimate you to the website.
-
Foundation Center GuideOnline tutorial (approx. 30 min). A basic primer for first-time grant writers, created by the Foundation Center. Information about the grant-seeking process is provided, with a special emphasis on those issued by the Foundation Center.
-
Frequently Asked QuestionsOffers a searchable and browsable list of questions about FDO and funding.
Foundation Directory Online Training
The Foundation Directory Online (FDO) contains the funding and programmatic profiles of over 100,000 foundations and charities, and offers general overview tutorials as well as in-depth information about how to use the FDO in your next funding search.
-
FDO Guided TourFour very brief videos that describe key ways to search using the Foundation Directory Online (FDO).
-
Philanthropy Classification SystemThe Classification System provides the standardized terms used to describe funders, areas of interest, populations, and other terms used in the FDO.