Research Guides: SW509: Data Sources for Community Assessment: Additional Resources

Other Library Data Sources

Sage Data
Provides access to more than 65 billion US and international data points from over 90 sources. Can create charts and maps and export data for further use.
PolicyMap Tutorial
View here a complete walk-through of all the features available in PolicyMap.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities, for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from international, US and state governments and businesses.
Data Axle This link opens in a new window
White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all U.S. residences and businesses, supplemented with government information from the Bureau of the Census, etc. Searchable by ZIP code, SIC (Standardized Industrial Classification) codes, number of employees, etc. as well as by name, address, and telephone number.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics.

Public Data Resources

City Data
Provides statistical profiles of cities across the U.S. and Canada, including data on education, population, crime, recreation and more.
data.gov.uk: opening up government
Government data from the U.K.
DataLumos
ICPSR archive of government data, including Department of Education and FEMA.
European Union Open Data Portal
EU institutions and government agencies deposit into this site a diverse selection of data they have collected.
Homelessness Estimates
From Housing and Urban Development (HUD), this page provides links to data on estimates of homelessness starting in 2007. Data downloads into a spreadsheet for use.
Kids Count Data Center
A project from the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Kids Count data includes national, state and some city data measuring demographics, economic well-being, education, family, health and safe/risky behavior in children and families.
Migration Policy Institute
Population data for migrant populations in the U.S.
Movement Advancement Project, LGBT Populations
Data from the Williams Group and Gallup allows estimates of the adult population by state who said they were LGBT.
National Center for Education Statistics
Tabular data covering all levels of education.
Open Data from the Government of Canada
Covers government data on services, finance, and demographics.
Pew Research Center
Offers statistics on a wide range of social issues. Includes research on public opinions and attitudes as well.
Poverty & Equity Data
Data from the World Bank.
U.S. Health Data
A collection of data sources on health in the U.S.
VA Open Data
One of several sites that provide data related to the U.S. veteran population.

Resources for Evaluating an Organization

Program Evaluation Library Research Guide
Links to the best databases and resources for helping with program evaluation.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Useful in-depth and current articles on both evaluating both community organizations and programs.
Encyclopedia of Evaluation
An online encyclopedia covering all aspects of evaluation as a practice. Consult the Reader's Guide to discover areas of interest or search within this book.

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Offers financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets; organization overview (mission, audience, etc.); annual reports, lists of officers and other key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms (typically all available forms since 1997).

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2025 1:24 PM

Subjects: Course Help, Social Sciences

Tags: 509, assessment, census data, community profile, social work