Find Data on Local Communities
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new windowCreate tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.
-
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowAllows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.
Using Data Axle to Find Local Businesses and Social Services
Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA) can provide counts of businesses (like daycare centers) in a particular city, zip code, census tract or a radius of your choice. It has counts for other establishments related to health care, legal services, educational institutions and religious organizations. More information on the business dataset can be found here.
First, go to Data Axle and click on Search under the U.S. Businesses dataset
Then select Advanced Search
First, select the Business Type. To browse different types click on Major Industry Group. Be sure to expand Retail Trade for businesses like grocery stores and Services for social, legal, educational and religious establishments
Then choose the Geography, you can search for establishments by neighborhood (e.g. Delray, Detroit).
After you've selected the establishments you want for your preferred geography, click on Update Count and then View Results
Public Data Resources
-
City DataProvides statistical profiles of cities across the U.S. and Canada, including data on education, population, crime, recreation and more.
-
data.gov.uk: opening up governmentGovernment data from the U.K.
-
DataLumosICPSR archive of government data, including Department of Education and FEMA.
-
Homelessness EstimatesFrom Housing and Urban Development (HUD), this page provides links to data on estimates of homelessness starting in 2007. Data downloads into a spreadsheet for use.
-
Kids Count Data CenterA project from the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Kids Count data includes national, state and some city data measuring demographics, economic well-being, education, family, health and safe/risky behavior in children and families.
-
Migration Policy InstitutePopulation data for migrant populations in the U.S.
-
Movement Advancement Project, LGBT PopulationsData from the Williams Group and Gallup allows estimates of the adult population by state who said they were LGBT.
-
National Center for Education StatisticsTabular data covering all levels of education.
-
Open Data from the Government of CanadaCovers government data on services, finance, and demographics.
-
Pew Research CenterOffers statistics on a wide range of social issues. Includes research on public opinions and attitudes as well.
-
Poverty & Equity DataData from the World Bank.
-
U.S. Health DataA collection of data sources on health in the U.S.
-
VA Open DataOne of several sites that provide data related to the U.S. veteran population.
Resources for Evaluating an Organization
-
Program Evaluation Library Research GuideLinks to the best databases and resources for helping with program evaluation.
-
Encyclopedia of Social WorkUseful in-depth and current articles on both evaluating both community organizations and programs.
-
Encyclopedia of EvaluationAn online encyclopedia covering all aspects of evaluation as a practice. Consult the Reader's Guide to discover areas of interest or search within this book.
-
GuideStar This link opens in a new windowOffers financial data for over 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets; organization overview (mission, audience, etc.); annual reports, lists of officers and other key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms (typically all available forms since 1997).