Why Use Library Databases
Recommended Databases
Need articles for your library research project, but not sure where to start? We recommend these top ten article databases for kicking off your research. If you can't find what you need searching in one of these top ten databases, browse the list of all library databases by subject (academic discipline) or title.
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowIndexes 3,000+ business-related periodicals (with full text for 2,000+), including Wall Street Journal.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly journals, industry periodicals, general interest magazines and newspapers.
- Access World News [NewsBank] This link opens in a new windowFull text of 600+ U.S. newspapers and 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNoted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new windowProvides access to medical, health, and wellness information from authoritative medical sources.
- Humanities Abstracts (with Full Text) This link opens in a new windowCovers 700 periodicals in art, film, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, literature, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
Finding Databases
The U-M Library subscribes to hundreds of databases which gives you access to thousands of journals and articles. The following video explains how you can find the appropriate database for your research needs
In addition to finding datases, the Journal search allows you to search for journals available at U-M. If you know the title of the journal you can enter it into the search box. If you are not looking for a specific journal you can browse by discipline. If U-M doesn’t own the journal you are looking for, we can obtain copies of articles for you via interlibrary loan.
Finding & Accessing Articles Using Library Search
The U-M Library Articles Search is a gateway to discovering a wide range of library resources. Please watch the video below on how to effectively and efficiently use Library Search.