Where to Start
Need articles but not sure where to start? The Undergraduate Library staff recommends these top ten databases for getting started.
-
Library Articles SearchAccess to over a half-billion articles from more than 125,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.
-
Google ScholarSearches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at U-Michigan" links.
-
PsycInfo (APA)This is the best database for research psychological topics but consider it for other topics including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Best bet for scholarly articles with a psychological twist.
-
PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links)Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
-
Web of ScienceCovering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.
-
Access World News [NewsBank]Full text of 600+ U.S. newspapers and 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
-
Literature Resource CenterProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
-
Additional Databases by SubjectCan't find what you need using one of the top ten databases? Browse the library's databases by subject.
University of Michigan (U-M) Sources
The Michigan Daily
- Current issues available on www.michigandaily.com
- Michigan Daily Digital Archive (search issues from 1890-2014).
University Record
- Online version available from September 1992 - 2002. This site allows you to navigate to a particular issue. The search box no longer works but you can search later issues at the University of Michigan gateway site. Include "University Record" in your search.
Ann Arbor News Sources
Current and recent Ann Arbor papers
- AnnArbor.com (formerly Ann Arbor News, now mLive)
- Ann Arbor Journal
- Ann Arbor Chronicle (2008-2014)
- Current paper issues of AnnArbor.com are available on the second floor of the Graduate Library in Serials/Microforms.
Ann Arbor News
Online you can view the Ann Arbor News from June 11, 2003 to July 23, 2009.
What are databases?
Why do all the databases look so different, and have such strange names? What is a database, anyway?
A database is an online collection of citations for journal and magazine articles, book chapters, etc. They often give access to the full text of the articles online.
Database vendors or providers often have agreements with various journal publishers. The U-M Library uses these different database vendors, because journal publishers have signed agreements with a particular database vendor that the full text of their journals will only be available in that particular database. In order to have a more complete collection of journal articles available full text online, it is necessary for the library to offer these various access points and interfaces.
photo courtesy of zoovroo
As always, if you have questions about using a different database interface, librarians are happy to help!