Global Health
This is a list of general resources to help you with reasearch on global health issues. For a much more comprehensive research guide, go to:
http://guides.lib.umich.edu/globalhealth
Did you know?
In 2005, the adult literacy rate of males 15 and older in
35.4%
Source: Gender Info 2007, United Nations Statistics Division
UN Millennium Development Goals
Global Health Resources
- PubMed (with UM journal links) PubMed indexes biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals as the premier database of health sciences journal literature. U-M users only.
- Global Health Database includes information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. Contains more than 1.2 million records from 1910-present. UM users only
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters.
- BioMed Central: Global Health GatewayHighlighting the latest BMC open access journal articles and resources in global health.
- WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Aims to provide a single searchable database of information about ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world in clinical trial registries.
- HealthMap: Global Disease Alert MapBrings together several data sources on current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location on global and regional maps.
- UN Millennium Development GoalsThe eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions.
- PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Database of public affairs and public policy worldwide. Contains books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. UM users only.
- Health Policy Reference CenterA database including information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine
- UN DataOfficial statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. Includes indicators such as Millennium
- World News ConnectionCIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. Searchable by keyword, region of the world, and date. Provides the full-text in English. UM users only.