Skip to main content

Washtenaw County Map Resources

Includes links to historical and current maps of Washtenaw County, MI, Ann Arbor, MI, and the University of Michigan.

Subject Guide

Timothy Utter's picture
Timothy Utter
Contact:
240F Clark Library

734 647-0646

U of M Holdings

The Clark Library owns several physical maps of Washtenaw County ranging from 1820-present, including, but not limited to:

  • street maps
  • land use maps
  • real estate atlases
  • plat maps
  • political districts
  • soil maps
  • travel and recreation guides
  • river maps

and many more. Come to the Clark Library reference desk to see any of these maps of Washtenaw County.

Clark Library Digital Collections

The Clark Library hosts a digital collection of a subset of our maps that have been scanned. All the maps hosted are in the public domain, but please credit the Clark Library when using them. 

This collection does not include all maps of Washtenaw County and Ann Arbor that the Clark Library has, but does include many of them. 

Suggested search terms include "Ann Arbor" and "Washtenaw County", as those will return slightly different results (for example, "Ann Arbor" also returns maps of other places that were published in Ann Arbor). 

Please visit the Clark Library in person for more maps that may not be in our digital collection.

Featured Clark Library Holdings

Online Washtenaw County Maps

Historic Washtenaw County Maps Online

  • MapWashtenaw provides access to the latest parcel maps and property data available from Washtenaw County through an interactive map viewer. The viewer shows a variety of property data for the entire county including parcels, aerial photos, topography, schools, and natural features. 
  • The Washtenaw County Website has a GIS program that collaborates with County departments, non-profit agencies and local units of government. Their Maps page links out to MapWashtenaw above, a Map Store for custom printing, and Water Resources Maps from the Commissioner's Office. 
  • The Washtenaw County GIS Data Portal, a collection of interactive map viewers and downloadable GIS data on topics including city planning, the environment, policy, etc. 
  • The Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) Geoportal also contains Washtenaw County map and data resources pulled from various local and state sources. Users may filter searches by subject, publisher, location, etc. 
  • The Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County provides digitized copies of historic Atlases and Maps of Washtenaw County
  • The Ann Arbor Distric Library map collection features digitized local and county area maps of historical interest, including over 80 maps and drawings from the Combination Atlas Map of Washtenaw County, Michigan: Compiled, drawn and published from personal examinations and surveys by Everts & Stewart
  • Michigan County Histories and Atlases Digitization Project is comprised of 428 digitized titles published before 1923. This includes Washtenaw County Atlases that are available through a search of the website.