What's on this Page
This page provides access to a select number of databases covering all aspects of health services and policy research. For additional databases, please go to the additional subject specific research guides offered through the University of Michigan Library.
Databases
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Overton.io This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications, and working papers.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 2.8 million+ policy reports, briefs, analyses, and datasets from IGOs, NGOs, and think tanks.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.
Below are are databases for identify scholarly articles on policy. If you are looking to research policies, bills, laws or court cases for the U.S. and states, please go to the U.S. Domestic Policy guide.
Congress
- CQ Almanac This link opens in a new windowContains unbiased, objective and comprehensive summaries of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous congress.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNoted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowAnalytical articles on Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995.
Grey Literature
- Overton.io This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications, and working papers.
- Policy Citation IndexProvides links between policy documents and the papers they cite.
- Policy CommonsAccess to more than 2.8 million+ policy reports, briefs, analyses, and datasets from 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and global research organizations.
Peer-reviewed journal articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowContains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals, and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
- Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine index of areas related to public administration, including public administration research, theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstract of journals and books, dissertations, and working papers for the field of economics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
Some core health databases are listed below. You may also go to a more comprehensive list of health-related databases.
- AgeLine (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowPrimary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.
- The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Global Health (CABI) This link opens in a new windowPublic health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, and more.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowThe MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
- Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive full-text database designed to support the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and the health care system.
- PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
Some core health databases are listed below. You may also go to a more comprehensive list of business-related databases.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowCombined access to all three ABI/INFORM business databases: Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window2,000+ business-related periodicals (1,200+ peer-reviewed), including Harvard Business Review, plus reports, videos, etc.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstract of journals and books, dissertations, and working papers for the field of economics.
- Human Resources Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Some core psychology and sociology databases are listed below. You may also go to a more comprehensive list of psychology and sociology databases.
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (with Full Text) This link opens in a new windowCovers 625 of the most important English-language journals across all the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowCross-search access to: Web of Science, BIOSIS, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, etc.
- Overton.io This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications, and working papers.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
Below are a select number of number of databases related to law research. Please see the law libguide for more extensive resources.
Background
- Commonly Requested U.S. Laws and RegulationsOne way to learn about federal laws and regulations is through the federal agencies charged with enforcing them. Check the list below for links to agency sites on popular legal topics. Where no federal law exists, sites offer compilations of state laws on a topic.
- National Conferene of State LegislaturesNCSL conducts policy research in a variety of areas ranging from agriculture and budget and tax issues and education to health care and immigration and transportation.
- Congressional Research Service ReportsResearch products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation
Federal
- Congress.gov This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text bills and bill tracking back to the 93rd Congress (1973) and also Congressional committee information.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowA retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIncludes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record, CRS Reports and executive agency documents
State
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
- Open StatesTrack bills, review upcoming legislation, and see how your local representatives are voting in your state.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesNCSL conducts policy research in a variety of areas ranging from agriculture and budget and tax issues and education to health care and immigration and transportation.
Administrative Rules and Regulations
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
- Federal Register and CFRPublished by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowA retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials.
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals, and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts of about 8,000 political science articles per year, published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowContains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.
Highlighted Resource: Overton Policy Database
- Overton.io This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications, and working papers.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2025 2:15 PM
Subjects: Health Sciences