Finding Tests & Measurement Instruments

A free, online data collection tool that also includes a library of instruments. From Northwestern University’s Department of Medical Social Sciences.

From AHRQ. Supplementary questions can be used to assess the quality of care based on levels of cultural competency and healthcare disparities.

An open-access database of resource-use questionnaires for use by health economists involved in trial-based economic evaluations.

A set of 19 measures from the Dental Quality Alliance of the American Dental Association. Part of the National Measures Clearinghouse.

A repository of measures currently being used by the agencies/sub-agencies of the U.S. DHHS for quality measurement, improvement, & reporting.

Contains 15,000 instruments, including questionnaires, rating scales, index measures, scenarios, vignettes, observations, checklists, manuals, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Keyword searchable.

From the National Library of Medicine. A free searchable catalog of research data sets, instruments, & software relevant to health services research, behavioral & social sciences, & public health. Records may include a links to a PubMed search.

Provides measures for reporting patient outcomes in a standardized way.

Data on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, & how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, & breadth of health insurance held by & available to U.S. workers.

From the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ). This database & web site provide information on specific evidence-based health care quality measures & measure sets, including the new Atlas of Integrated Behavioral Health Care Quality Measures. In addition, it now tags measure summaries corresponding to its Population Health Measure Domains. Search by topic, organization, or National Quality Strategy.

A multidimensional set of brief, standard measures assessing cognitive, emotional, motor, & sensory function. Available via a web site or iPad app.

Contains measures domains related to physical health, mental health, & social health for both adults & children. From the NIH.

QualityTools is a clearinghouse for practical, ready-to-use tools for measuring and improving the quality of health care.

Includes Pediatric Asthma Scale, Hospital Competition Measures, Kidney Disease Quality of Life Instrument, and others.

More than 400 measures, that can be filtered by 1) Assessment Type, Area of Assessment, Population, Body Part, & Cost or 2) Disease or Condition (further down the page). From the Shirley Ryan Ability Lab.

Compare organizations' results to initial results from previous surveys. Use the left navigation bar to choose the organization type (Hospital, Medical Office, or Nursing Home) & select Comparative Database.

To help in the early identification of children coping with the unique, significant challenge of a parent's military deployment that can be integrated into primary care and pediatric practices.

Search by topic & "measurement instruments".

Information on published unpublished psychological tests and measures. Includes FAQ page with information about where to find particular tests.

Free version of some of the content of Mental Measurements Yearbook.

Over 170 individual difference measures commonly used in judgment & decision-making research.

An extensive library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900's to the present. Tests are from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors, plus some from Canada, Great Britain and Australia.

The 37 measures in the Mental Health Inventory are part of the 116 core measures of functioning and well-being from the Medical Outcomes Study (MOS), a two-year study of patients with chronic conditions.

A World Wide Web meta source for information devoted exclusively to the subject of Human Neuropsychology. Select "Links" to view the available assessment resources.

Surveys from RAND on topics such as Aging and Health, Mental Health, & Quality of Life.

A collection of self report instruments from Charles S. Carver of the University of Miami Psychology Department. Includes the Spanish translations of these instruments.