United States History

Millions of records describing archival materials held in over 1,000 archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.

Provides full text, searchable access to important American magazines and newspapers from the 18th through early 20th centuries.

Access to images from over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian papers and magazines from 1911-1955.

Over 170 periodicals from 26 states by and about African Americans.

Stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War.

Collection of digitized periodicals from 1684-1912.

Over 30,000 broadsides and ephemeral publications.

Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, this is the largest electronic collection of American dramatic writing of its kind.

Provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.

Manuscripts and individual item collections from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.

A primary source database that includes manuscripts, maps, broadsides, and a variety of ephemeral works.

The pamphlets currently digitized comprise a very small part of a much larger collection of pamphlets owned by the Labadie Collection.

A database listing over 200,000 manuscript and other special collections at thousands of repositories in the U.S., U.K. and Ireland.

Millions of records describing archival materials held in over 1,000 archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Combined access to six databases containing full text of historical American books, newspapers & periodicals.

Gateway to a variety of subject specific digital microfilm collections.

An integrated bibliographic resource for discovering 19th-century books, periodicals, official records, newspapers, and archives.

Collection of articles, memoirs and correspondence describing events related directly or indirectly to the U.S. Civil War.

Provides access to finding aids for archival records and manuscripts in the Central Michigan University Clarke historical collection.

Digital archive of oral histories documenting the Cold War.

A collection of Lincoln's correspondence, speeches, and other writings.

Digitized collection of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at the UK National Archives.

Provides users with access to primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.

Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Office.

Page images and searchable full-text of Early American Imprints, Series I Evans & Series I Supplement.

Provides full-text access to American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.

Collection of 18th century books, pamphlets, broadsides, etc. published in the UK.

Over 60,000 images of original manuscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.

Based on the authoritative bibliography 'European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, it contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

Digital archive documenting the missionary work of the Presbyterian Church in Syria and Lebanon.

Digital archive of diaries and letters and other first-person accounts documenting Presbyterian missions in Africa.

Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.

Full-text primary source database of source material for the study of the First World War.

Documents existence on the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920, including frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia.

Collection of digitized manuscript & visual primary source material for the study of global commodities in world history.

Searchable access to over 17 million volumes--including over 8.3 million books, over 1.2 million government documents, and over 450,000 serial publications--with full text access to 9 million+ volumes.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Collection of primary source documents, images, and narratives detailing the impact of the influenza epidemic of 1918-1919 on 50 cities.

Contains a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.

Collection of primary sources on the history of tourism from 1850-1980.

Extensive digitized holdings from the Library of Congress, including texts, sound recordings, images, prints, maps and sheet music.

A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A searchable, full-text database of 22,000 English language legal treatises from the U.S. and U.K.

Contains approximately 1.5 million pages of historical United States legal material including constitutional convention documents, colonial records, city charters, and early state codes and digests.

Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world.

Digital and searchable editions of more than 70,000 titles, published between 1450 and 1945.

From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Documents the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, as well as the British, European and Asian migration with primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by compilations of teaching and research aids.

Reproduction of the originals from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, about a militant anti-Communist organization formed in the early 1960s.

Collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore.

Resources for historical & genealogical research including over 9 billion historical ​records from all over the world.

Over 4700 plays published in the United States in the nineteenth century. Includes prompt books and manuscripts.

Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.

Digital collection of documents covering Richard Nixon's presidency from a British, Commonwealth, & European perspective.

Reproduction of the originals from the Lost Cause Press.

Provides extensive information on the founding and growth of the homophile movement of the 1950s-80s.

Contains digitized manuscripts and photographs as well as maps and primary sources relating to the Polar Bear Expedition.

Music, politics, fashion, and youth culture at a time of great social change.

Primary source collection of 19th century medial material aimed at the general public, including books, pamphlets, and advertising ephemera.

Primary sources for 19th and 20th century U.S. history.

Reproduction of the originals from the McMaster University Library. Collection consists of over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War.

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource compiles the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Indexes older articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, 1890-1982.

Documents the 1960s through primary source materials such as diaries, letters, oral histories, and memorabilia.

Includes newpapers, books and manuscripts from US and European archives on slavery.

Provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories for archival records and manuscript collections.

Accounts by American women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

Topical collection of sources covering U.S. historical events, movements, and cultural shifts

Comprises full text of monographs and government documents published in the US, Spain & the Philippines.

Digital archive of texts related to witchcraft dating from the 15th century to the early 20th century.

Primary texts on women’s voices as agents or opponents of empire in the United States and abroad.

Collection of primary texts relating to women socal activists around the world, 1840 to present.

Primary documents, introductory essays, and a definitive bibliography on the involvement of women in social movements.

Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.

Searchable primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newspapers, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, and posters.

Document collection on women, family and home life in the South and the North U.S.

Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The broad scope allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others.

One of the most influential U.S. women's magazines in developing the concept of the "woman's sphere."

Indexes the popular and scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender community.

Searchable archive comprising the full backfiles of 13 leading women’s interest consumer magazines.

Primary texts on women’s voices as agents or opponents of empire in the United States and abroad.

Collection of primary texts relating to women socal activists around the world, 1840 to present.

Primary documents, introductory essays, and a definitive bibliography on the involvement of women in social movements.

Collection of magazines dating from 1940 to the present highlighting topics and trends of youth and popular culture.

Contains serials related to African American religious life and culture.

Over 170 periodicals from 26 states by and about African Americans.

Presents the history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present. Includes overview essays, sidebars, and primary sources, and over 200 images that chronicle the story of African Americans' struggles, triumphs, complexity, and exuberance.

Online collection of texts related to African American history from the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Digital archive of letters to and from the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the United States.

Full text database of manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books.

Provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and photographs.

Digitized collections from the U.S. National Archives covering American Indians & U.S. government relations during the 19th & 20th centuries.

Collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States.

Presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries.

Primary sources documenting the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the U.S. before the Civil War.

Cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders.

Digitized records of organizations including the NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, & CORE, along with FBI surveillance files on MLK, Jr. & from COINTELPRO.

Archive of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, periodicals and photographs on native North Americans.

Documents North American Indian history through biographies, autobiographies, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.

The most comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion polls archived from surveys going back to 1935.