Simultaneous searching of three premier resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Provides in-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors.
James L. Harner's guide to reference sources for research in all areas of literary studies.
Published by the MLA, James L. Harner's Literary Research Guide offers information about reference sources for doing research in all areas of literary studies. The electronic edition of the Guide, based on the fifth print edition, allows you to look up materials in WorldCat, Google Books, and your library’s online catalog. Use the personalization feature to save searches and individual entries and to write notes about them for later reference. Since the initial release of the electronic edition in 2009, the author has revised the Guide twice a year. The online Guide, which will continue to be updated and revised regularly, now includes over 1,000 entries; refers to nearly 1,700 additional books, articles, and electronic resources in annotations; and cites more than 700 reviews.
Provides searchable access to volumes from ten different series reproducing excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds and periods of literature, including: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Provides searchable, online access to volumes from ten different series reproducing excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds and periods of literature, including: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines content from Gale Literary Databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
This nearly completed monument of medieval scholarship provides a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citations.
The print MED, completed in 2001, has been described as "the greatest achievement in medieval scholarship in America." Its 15,000 pages offer a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips, the largest collection of this kind available. This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
Full-text version of : Thompson, Stith. Motif-index of folk-literature: a classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. Revised and enlarged edition. Bloomington and Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, 1955-1958. This venerable reference work is a subject index to folktales from around the world. Sources come from thousands of books and periodicals (see Bibliography). Indexed are the "folktale, the myth, the ballad, the fable, the mediaeval romance, the fabliau, the jest, the exemplum, and the local tradition" (Introduction, p. 11) from both literatry and oral traditions. Excluded are "superstitions, customs, religious beliefs, riddles, or proverbs, except as they happen to form an organic part of a narrative" (Introduction, p. 11). One can use the left-hand facets to navigate through the book alphabetically by subject from Volume 1 through Volume 6. One also can use the Search box at the top of the page to word-search the entire six-volume work. Hyperlink crossreferences are provided to similar myths (e.g., "Animals have second sight" is crossreferenced to "Dwarfs predict"). Additionally, motif-index entries (e.g., "Dwarfs predict") provide references to source literature (e.g., "Irish myth: Cross; Icelandic: *Boberg; German: Pröhle Harzsagen No. 155, Bindewald 188"). Note: There also is a digital copy of the original six-volume set in HathiTrust: http://mirlyn.lib.umich.edu/Record/001276245
Searchable full text index to 7,500 print reference works shelved in the Hatcher Graduate Library.
This "featured collection" in the HathiTrust Digital Library makes it possible to search the full text of most of the print books in the Hatcher Graduate Library's Reference Collection (about 7,500 works in about 15,000 print volumes), including most of the books shelved in the Reference Reading Room and at the Information and Reference Center on the second floor. For the 20% of materials covered that are in the public domain, the full text of the reference work can be viewed online. The other 80% of works covered that remain in copyright are "Search Only," meaning that the full text cannot be viewed online, but search results indicate on which page(s) of the volume a match with the search terms occurs, so one can then retrieve the print volume and know to what page(s) to turn to locate the search terms in the printed text. Note: No reference works published since 2010 are covered by this index. Neither are reference works that the library has acquired only in online form. This is an index to print reference works only.
Comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world.
Comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. Includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator and essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as essays on the traditions of children's literature throughout the world. Edited by Jack Zipes. First published 2006.
Web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language. Contains all the second edition entries, which are gradually being supplemented with new revised entries as the third edition is created.
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and science.