This is the "Finding literary works in translation" page of the "Translation Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Translation Studies   Tags: translation_studies, translations  

Resources for finding translations, conducting research in translation studies, and locating online tools for translators.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/translation-studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding literary works in translation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases and indexes

To locate translations of specific works, search the WorldCat for the author and/or the original title of the work and limit the search to the desired language using the drop-down box below. The list of results will indicate which items can be found in the U-M Library. If we don't have a particular title in our collections, you can request it through interlibrary loan. The link to the request form can be found in each WorldCat record as well as here.



Another place to look is UNESCO's Index Translationum: its online database includes translations published since 1979, while the print edition lists translations registered between 1932 and 1986.
 
Translation Database on Three Percent records new translations of fiction and poetry published or distributed in the U.S. since January 1st, 2008. The data is presented in annual cumulations.

Finnish Literature in Translation provides infromation on translations of Finnish, Finland Swedish and Sami fiction and non-fiction.

Japanese Literature in Translation Search covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages, mostly after World War II. Searches can be made either in Japanese characters or Roman letters.

Finding English Translations of Vocal Music Texts is a research guide from U-M Music Library.

Finding Translations on the Web

There are many sites devoted to individual authors that contain translated texts. You can find them searching for e.g. "German literature translation", "Tolstoy translation", etc. However, be cautious and look for signs that the translation has some kind of authority behind it. Who is sponsoring the site? If the text has been scanned, has it been done accurately? In a word, be critical. If in doubt, turn for help to an expert.

  • Project Gutenberg
    Offers thousands of free ebooks, many of them translations of important authors. You can search or browse by author, title, and language.

Romanization of Non-Roman Scripts

  • ALA-LC Romanization Tables
    In order to search databases and library catalogs for materials in non-roman scripts, you may need to consult the ALA-LC Romanization Tables for transliteration schemes for specific languages.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Barbara Alvarez
Contact Info
209 Hatcher Graduate Library
913 S. University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
(734) 936-2361
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip