Library Contact
Scott Martin
Contact:
4323 Taubman Health Sciences Library
Office hour: Th 2-3 PM via Zoom: https://umich.zoom.us/j/9334900604
Office hour: Th 2-3 PM via Zoom: https://umich.zoom.us/j/9334900604
734-764-8196
Website
Accessing Databases
Sometimes you may have trouble accessing a database, whether on campus or off. A link may direct you to a page asking for login information, or payment information.
The University Library has already paid for your access to many databases. If you run into problems, the link may not be running through the proxy server. Try putting the proxy prefix in front of your link - http://proxy.lib.umich.edu/login?url=
Articles can also be obtained through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if the Library does not have a subscription to a specific journal.
MGet It
Already Have a Citation?
Databases for Botanical Research - Articles & Species Data
- PLANT SPECIES....................
The following databases are divided by topic into Plant Species, General Species Data, Agriculture and Forestry, and General Science/Ecology.
- International Plant Names Index (IPNI)Database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants. Product of the Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), the Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium. IPNI is an amalgam of Index Kewensis, the Gray Card Index, and the Australian Plant Names Index.
- JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Global Plants (formerly JSTOR Plant Science) is a community-contributed database where worldwide herbaria can share their plant type specimens, experts can determine and update naming structures, students can discover and learn about plants in context, and a record of plant life can be preserved for future generations.
- UM Herbarium DatabasesDatabases of plant species created by the University of Michigan Herbarium researchers, including type collections of vascular plants, bryophytes, fungi, and algae.
- GENERAL SPECIES DATA....................
- Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)The Encyclopedia of Life is a collaborative effort among several internationally known natural history institutions, with the goal of providing detailed information about all 1.8 million species of organisms on Earth via a single, free web portal. Content is synthesized from published literature and verified by volunteer scientists. Most of the content is text, although multimedia and interactive content is available for some entries.
- AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY....................
- AGRICOLAA bibliographic database of the agricultural literature, containing records of materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Index to articles in agriculture, soil sciences, forestry, and related areas.
- Biological and Agricultural Index PlusBiological and Agricultural Index is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 300 periodicals. Periodical coverage includes a wide range of scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology, agriculture, forestry and ecology. It indexes English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere.
- GENERAL SCIENCE/ECOLOGY....................
- Web of ScienceCombines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.
- Biosis PreviewsComprehensive index to life sciences research literature. Covers journals (5000+), reports, meetings (1500+), reviews, and books in all areas of biology. Weekly email alerts available.
- Annual ReviewsProvides access to authoritative, analytic reviews of research in 29 focused disciplines within the Biological & Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Permits searching within these three broad categories or across all 29 titles.
- BioOne Abstracts and IndexesThis BioOne bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 65 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers.
- Ecology AbstractsCovers relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Related Guides
Other resource guides that may be helpful...
- BiologyResources for basic research in biology, including: molecular, developmental, and cell biology; ecology and evolutionary biology; botany; and zoology.
- Finding Species InformationA guide for finding factual information about particular plant and animal species.
- Environment and SustainabilityU-M Libraries supports research in natural resources and environmental science through a variety of materials, both print and electronic.
Last Updated: Nov 8, 2024 12:13 PM
Subjects: Science