Researching and Writing an Architecture Paper

Collection of nearly one million images of visual and material culture

Image collections maintained by the University of Michigan Digital Library

For more information about finding images and other visual resources (for architecture and other disciplines), see the LibGuide for Images.

Allows users to search a range of architectural image collections available through the University of Michigan Digital Library.

A rich archive of images of architectural monuments, landscape architecture, public art, etc.

Click on the Images Tab to search JSTOR Images (formerly ARTstor). Provides access to nearly one million images of visual and material culture, including architecture, art, photojournalism, and other materials.

850 searchable case studies of buildings: expertly authored texts, architectural drawings and photographs selected from Birkhäuser manuals.

A database of visual and textual content of the German architectural magazine, Detail, from 1987- present.

The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division.

Panoramic Views of Cities, Monuments and Landscapes.

Browsable collection of drawings and illustrations from the Toledo Lucas County Public Library.

Online resource for ArchNet, an online community devoted to the study of Islamic architecture, art, and culture.

Searchable collection of historic and contemporary images of landscape design centered on the Italian Villa.

A database of over 6,000 digital images representing over 450 cities from the photographic collections of the American Geographical Society Library.

Images of endangered Jewish sites across the Middle East and North Africa.

Images of architecture from around the world -- provided by Prof. Sullivan, Bluffton College.

Browseable and searchable database of multi-family housing types with photographs.

Images of the history and architecture of Ann Arbor.

Images and information about built monuments of 12th and 13th century France.

Photographs and Drawings of William Muschenheim's architectural work.

Access to hundreds of thousands of images crossing many disciplines.

Searchable, information-rich database of architects and architecture of the Pacific Coast (Washington, Oregon, and California).

Several thousand images from collections of the Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs and the relating the history of Detroit; including urban development, politics, civil rights, ethnic communities, etc.

Over 10,000 images of 20th-century Canadian architecture.

A searchable database of historical and contemporary architecture.

Profiles of contemporary architects. Searchable by country or by name.