Earth & Environmental Sciences

Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including:

Books, dissertations, and microforms
Copies of periodical articles or short sections of books

Please use this form to recommend titles for the U of M Library Collection.

Continuously updated doctor dissertations database in China. By now, it has collected 244,028 doctoral dissertations from 418 doctor degree grantors.

10 Series databases--Mathematics/Physics/Mechanics/Astronomy; Chemistry/Metallurgy/Environment/Mine Industry; Architecture/Energy/Traffic/Electromechanics, etc; Agriculture; Medicine & Public Health; Literature/History/Philosophy; Politics/Military Affairs/Law; Education & Social Science; Electronic Technology & Information Science; Economics & Management.

Series databases are further divided into 168 Subject databases.

Year Coverage: 1984 onward

Publisher: China Academic Journal (CD) Electronic Journals Publishing House Co., Ltd.

Dissertations and theses submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for master's or doctoral degrees at the University of Michigan. This collection also includes theses written by U-M faculty.

Ph.D. dissertations at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor are awarded by the Rackham School of Graduate Studies.

EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.

It demonstrates the quality of UK research, and supports the UK Government’s open access principle that publications resulting from publicly-funded research should be made freely available for all researchers, providing opportunities for further research. EThOS helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository, as indicated in its Training Grant Terms & Conditions (Paragraph 104).

EThOS aims to provide:

A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions
Free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research.

There are approximately 350,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 120,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 250,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.

Records are held for all UK PhD-awarding institutions, but we do not (yet) hold all records for all institutions. Every month around 3000 new records are added and an additional 2000 full text theses become accessible. Access routes to the full text are determined by the individual institution and may depend on:

Mandatory electronic deposit of newly awarded theses by its students
Availability of its theses in the institutional repository
Its level of repository development
Digitisation priorities for its print theses

The digitisation on demand facility is a unique feature of EThOS and brings new e-born theses and older print content together into a single place. Users ordering a copy through digitisation on demand may experience a turnaround time of up to 6 weeks. There may also be a charge for the scanning process (currently £44.37 + VAT £8.87 = Total £53.24). Details are provided within each record.