Elections and Voting

Election data for Presidents, Governors, Representatives and Senators since 1789. Primary and general election data by county; state Presidential primary and caucus data (hard to find elsewhere); election analysis; case summaries, and biographies. Includes changes in party control, successful candidates of third parties. Downloadable spreadsheets equivalent to data found in America Votes. U-Mich Only

Votes for President and Governor by state and county beginning 1952 and votes for Members of Congress by Congressional District beginning 1946. The latest data is 2006. Only available in paper copy: Reference Room JK 1967 .A1 A68 Related publication: America at the Polls, 1920-56 (Ref. JK 524 .G72 v.1) has county-level Presidential election results within each state section and Presidential preference primary results at the back of the book. Presidential Elections Since 1789 (Doc. Cen. JK 524 .C746) provides the popular vote by state (not county), 1824-1916, and electoral votes by state (the only votes available), 1789-1916
Reference Room JK 1967 .A1 A68

Maps and tables with Presidential votes since 1860. Maps outline state electoral votes. Tables show major and independent presidential and vice presidential candidates, popular and electoral votes, and percentages for both. County election data for 1912, 1968, and 1980-2008.

A commercial source compiling the data for sale. Congressional district votes for president, 1992-2004, are available as free .pdf documents;District data for President is not collected in other sources.

Provide Presidential (1789-2008), Senate (1822-2008), House (1908-2010) and Gubernatorial (1787-2008) election results. Primary and general election data by county; state Presidential primary and caucus data (hard to find elsewhere); election analysis; case summaries, and biographies. Includes changes in party control, successful candidates of third parties. Downloadable spreadsheets equivalent to data found in America Votes.

Provides the popular vote by state (not county), 1824-1916, and electoral votes by state (the only votes available), 1789-1916. Only available in paper copy at Clark Library(Call No. JK 524.C746 1991).

Data purchased from Dave Leip's Atlas of the U.S. Presidential Elections

Handbook of contemporary American election statistics. It provides information about votes for President and Governor by state and county beginning 1952 and votes for Members of Congress by Congressional District beginning 1946. America Votes 30 and 31 are also on Sage Knowledge. For earlier editions search for the print copies in the Library Catalog

It has county-level Presidential election results within each state section and Presidential preference primary results at the back of the book. (Hatcher Ref. JK 524 .G72)

Provides county level of Presidential election results between 1960-2008.

A commercial source compiling the data for sale. Congressional district votes for president, 1992-2004, are available as free .pdf documents;District data for President is not collected in other sources.

Handbook of contemporary American election statistics. It provides information about votes for President and Governor by state and county beginning 1952 and votes for Members of Congress by Congressional District beginning 1946. America Votes 30 and 31 are also on Sage Knowledge. For earlier editions search for the print copies in the Library Catalog

State-by-state ESRI shapefiles of 2020 precinct-level general election results.

MIT Election Data + Science Lab

Precinct-level election data for U.S. State for elections from 2002 to 2012.

2000 election only. Some data is matched with race data from the US Census

Primary source for public opinion on elections, political participation, characteristics of voters, and for whom they voted, 1948-2016. It also provides summary data on social, economic, partisanship, and public opinion, 1948 to present.

Provide document and data about Pre-and Post-election survey, ANES cumulative data file (1948-2008), and ANES panel studies. ICPSR member Institutions only.

Provide information about Presidential election s back to 1976 including primary exit polls, national election day exit polls, state election day exit polls, popular vote (1940-2008), and Congressional elections (1994- present).

SDA provides web-based analysis of survey data including the General Social Survey (GSS), American national Election Study (ANES), and Current Population Survey.

Provides comprehensive turnout statistics for primary and general elections for presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial races. PDF, CVS, and EXCEL formats are available.

Data archive of voter turnout and precinct boundary election results.

Provides information on African American voters from Colonial America to the present, tracing the history of the laws dealing with enfranchisement and disenfranchisement of African Americans and provides the election return data for African American candidates in national and subnational elections over this same time span.

Map of electoral college votes since 1789

List and brief biographies of the 156 electors who did not vote for president as indicated by their state's electoral vote

Electoral college laws and procedures. State-by-state electoral college votes, 1789-2008

Census Bureau provides sociodemographic characteristics of voters (age, race, sex, employment, and education status) since 1964 but not who they voted for. Projections of voting age population for the current election by state and then age, race, sex.

Provide prediction rate of presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections from 2000 to present. For previous predictions, use 'Election projection Resources'.

Provide updated elections analyses about presidential, Senate, Gubernatorial race and the tightest campaigns for the House from 2004 to present. This website run by the University of Virginia's Center for Politics.