Research Guides: Germanic Languages & Literatures: Articles

Finding Articles

Use Library Articles Search to look for scholarly articles, book chapters, newspaper articles, and more. You can narrow your search by publication date, format, language, and other filters when viewing your search results.

Library Database Search or Online Journals Search will allow you to search more generally for databases or journals (not by title of article).

Highly Recommended Indexes and Databases

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
Online index to scholarship in German language and literature, 1985-present. Generally superior to MLAB in its coverage of German-language material.
more...less...
Earlier coverage in the print version, Hatcher Graduate Reference Z2231.B58.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film, 1920s-present.
Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes over 300,000 articles in more than 25,000 books (anthologies and collections of essays) focusing on the humanities and social sciences, published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Based on the print series, contains full-text German-language works by and critical apparatuses for, canonical authors in various fields.
DigiZeitschriften: das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to more than a thousand German scholarly journals, 19th century to present, covering arts, humanities, sciences & social sciences.
Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB)
The German Union Catalogue of Serials (ZDB) is one of the world’s largest databases for journals, newspapers, monographic series and other serial publications from all countries, in all languages, without time restrictions, in printed, electronic or digitized form.
PressReader
Over 7,000 newspapers and magazines from around the world, including over 350 in German from Austria, Germany, Switzerland, and other countries. Archive is only 60 days. For historical newspapers, use Nexis Uni or microfilm.
Nexis Uni
Contains many German newspapers and magazines, full-text, from as far back as the early 1990s. Good resource for locating book reviews from major German newspapers.
more...less...
To find/search German news sources:
*click on blue News tab on left.
*click on "Foreign Language" link.
*change language to German.
*the blue "i" button lists full-text sources

To reduce your search results to a smaller but more relevant set:
*limit your search to Headline & Lead
*use a date range

Print Indexes

Zeitungs-Index
Index to major German newspapers and news magazines, 1974-present.
Hatcher Graduate - AI 9 .Z48

Highly Recommended Journals

Monatshefte
A journal published by the University of Wisconsin Press devoted to the study of German language and literature.

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2024 1:11 PM

Subjects: Humanities