Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

French History

Find collections and other resources for the study of French History

Dissertations

Atelier National de reproduction de theses Doctoral dissertation database.
Requests for particular titles may be placed through Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Provides indexing and abstracts for dissertations accepted at institutions in the U.S. and Canada. Since the subject categories are very general, try keyword searching.
Remote access is restricted to current UM faculty, staff and students.
Fichier central des thèses Searchable database of doctoral theses in progress.
Foreign Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) The Center for Research Libraries holds more than 800,000 dissertations from countries other than the U.S. and Canada. While most remain uncatalogued, a searchable database is now under construction.
Requests for particular titles may be placed through Interlibrary Loan.

Index to theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland

Grad Library Z 5055 .G69 I38 (1950- ). Online access (1967- ) may be restricted to current UM faculty, staff and students.
Système universitaire de documentation (Sudoc) The union catalogue for French universities, which includes theses in history back to about 1972.
Thèses-en-ligne TEL aims to make theses and habilitations available to scientists all around the world, rapidly and freely (in countries where habilitations exist).