The U-M Library Latin American & Caribbean Studies is one of the fastest growing collections in the country. It spans a wide variety of disciplines and libraries on the U-M campus. Geographically, the collection is strongest in Brazil, Cuba, the Andean Region and Mexico. Historically strong subject areas of the collection include colonial history, Caribbean Studies, slavery and bibliography. More recently, race, ethnicity and gender for most areas of Latin American & the Caribbean have been emphasized, but especially for Brazil and the Caribbean. Literature is also a strong component of the Library collection, representing a variety of countries, periods and genres. Areas currently under development include Argentine culture and history; 19th and 20th century Dominican and Puerto Rican history and culture; film studies and Judaica. Languages represented in the LACS collection include English, Spanish and Portuguese, as well as a variety of indigenous languages, such as Quechua, Aymara, Nahua, Maya and Guaraní.
While the collection primarily contains resources in the humanities and social sciences housed in the Hatcher Graduate Library, Latin American & Caribbean titles may also be found in libraries such as Museums, Science, and Public Health. The Special Collections Library contains important collections such as the Cuban Hand-made Books Collection (Ediciones Vigía) and the Labadie Collection of materials on "social protest," with a significant portion directly related to Latin American & Caribbean Studies. In additions, the Clements Library of research materials on the conquest and colonial history of the Americas is rich in rare printed books and valuable manuscripts.