Chinese Studies

Collection of 49 different periodicals on Chinese medicine published in the Late Qing and Republican Periods in China.

Covers the English and Chinese newspapers published by North-China Daily News & Herald, Limited, the largest British-founded press agency in Shanghai. Newspaper titles include The North-China Herald 北华捷报,The North-China Daily News 字林西报, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser 上海新报, Hu Bao 沪报, Han Bao 汉报, Xiao Xian Bao 消闲报, and The North-China Desk Hong List 字林西报行名录.

Sourced from the Shanghai Library, this database covers over 400 titles of tabloids featuring approximately 400,000 pages in total.

Approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from China’s long nineteenth century.

Full-text database of the North China Herald, the most important English weekly published in Shanghai from the 1850s to the 1940s.

Online collection of this English-language weekly newspaper covering issues published during the 1920s.

Full-text database (with PDF images of the original print version) of a most important modern Chinese newspaper. Include all 27534 issues (Shanghai, Hankou, and Hong Kong versions) published from April 30, 1872 to May 27, 1949.
Two concurrent user limit.

This platform includes two series of newspapers : 中央日報 (1928-1949) and 臺灣民報系列 (1920-1932). 臺灣民報系列 includes four newspapers: 臺灣民報 (1923-1930), 臺灣新民報 (1930-1932), 臺灣 (1923-1924), and 臺灣青年 (1920-1922).

Full-text searchable database of Kuomingtang's (KMT) official newspaper. Content before 1949 can be accessed through 中國近代報刊 platform listed above.

An official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule. Database includes 臺灣日日新報 (1898-1944), 漢文日日新報 (1905-1911), and 臺灣新報 (1896-1897).

This full-text database is a part of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) e-resources package provided by EastView Information Services. Search guide.

Covers 8 important Taiwanese newspapers, including United Daily News, Minsheng Daily, United Evening News, Economic Daily News, and Star News.

Weekly digestible collection of English-language translation of the articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China, all of which are explicitly targeted on a domestic – not foreign – audience.
New feature: "Trending News on Chinese Social Media" looks beyond the official state-controlled news outlets to explore relevant stories largely unnoticed by Western readers.

Full-text database (with PDF images of the orginal print version) of Chinese Communist Party's most important newspaper. Cover 1946-2008.

This database is acquired to address the growing amount of difficulties accessing the one listed above. Content updated frequently.
Note: Two concurrent user limit.

Full-text database (with PDF images of the orginal print version) of China's most important official newspaper. Cover 1949-2010.

Full-text searchable database of a daily newspaper from China focusing on international relations and foreign affairs. Updated daily. Covers the full run from January 1993.

Full-text database of communist China's most important military newspaper.

Full-text database of the English, French, Dutch, Japanese, and Spanish versions of the Beijing Review, the most circulated foreign language magazine published by the PRC government since the 1950s.

One of the most influential English-language newspaper published in Hong Kong.

A comprehensive collection of government gazettes, bulletins, announcements, and proclamations. It contains national and local laws and regulations from Chinese government departments at all levels and is updated frequently. Currently there are 380,000 post-1994 items, with some titles covering retrospectively from the first issue.

Contains several hundred yearbooks published by China's central, provincial, and municipal government.

Contains a wide variety of local gazetteers published after 1990. As of Feb. 2020, the platform contains 47,000+ titles.

This database contains the following four modules: the Political Campaigns in the 1950s; the Great Leap Forward－ Great Famine; the Anti-Rightist Campaign; the Cultural Revolution.

In addition to transcripts for the documentary films and newsreels from 1966 to 1976, collection of film advertisements and transcripts of Chinese documentary films and newsreels spans the years 1946 to 1985.
Please use this index for detailed information of each item.

EPS China Statistics presents series of statistical databases on China, which are sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, and covers various subjects, industries, fields, and all regions of China. It features timely and regularly updated statistical databases, including over 1.2 million basic and combined indicators in time series with a yearly increment of about 30 million numeric data.
Available in both English and Chinese.
Enter the English version: Click "Enter the Databases" button in the upper right corner.
Enter the Chinese version: Click "Chinese" button at the upper right corner of the English interface, click "进入数据库" button in the upper right corner, and click "IP登录" if you see a pop-up window.

Covers wide variety of primary and secondary resources of Chinese law in both English and Chinese.
Please note: This database is subscribed by the Law Library.

Full-text database of pre-modern Chinese written works. Developed by Academia Sinica in Taipei, Taiwan. Search guide.

A widely used open-access digital library of pre-modern Chinese writing. With over thirty thousand titles, 25 million pages of scanned primary source materials, and more than five billion characters of transcribed text, it is the largest database of its type.
UM's subscription to this digital library enables faculty and students to easily and efficiently access full-text data for digital humanities research and teaching use, through both the online web interface by means of a variety of plugins, as well as through other specialized mechanisms such as data mining APIs (more information).

This is a database of ancient books created by Zhonghua Book Company 中華書局 (ZHBC). All the materials included are proofread, collated, and published by ZHBC, covering Confucian classics, history, philosophy, and literature. This database features the Twenty-Four Histories, annotation and commentaries of Thirteen Classics in the Qing Dynasty, collection of historical notes, and basics of classical literature, among many others. Currently there are 630 titles in the database, with 400 million characters.
Note: Two concurrent user limit.

A full-text database of 10,000 important classical works (13 million pages and 1.9 billion characters) from pre-Qin period to the early 20th century, including classics, basic literature, and special works of various disciplines. Full text can be viewed side-by-side with images from one or two editions.
Two concurrent users limit.

U-M subscription to this database includes three modules: 敦煌史料, 續修四庫全書, and 永樂大典.

Includes full-text databases of 中醫中藥古籍, 歷代書畫文集, 四部叢刊, 四部備要, 十通, 清代史料文獻, 明代史料文獻 and 歷代石刻史料彙編.

Digital version of the Wenyuan Ge 文淵閣 copy of the Siku quanshu. IP log-in for on-campus use only. Off-campus log-in instruction please see here.
Please note:
Individual user should install the client program to personal work station before accessing to the database. Please go to http://www.eastview.com/online/sikudownload to download the program.
Four public computers at the Reference Room of the Asia Library, located at the 4th floor of Hatcher Graduate Library North, has been loaded this client program. Available at "AppAnywhere" software portal.

Online version of the famous Qing Dynasty encyclopedia.

This Open Access resource page contains many databases of primary source materials and reference materials for researching the Qing Dynasty history. They cover a wide range of subjects, including statecraft, military affairs, foreign affairs, finance, agriculture, and industry.
Previously accessed through institutional subscription, Ch'ing Palace Memorials and Archives of the Grand Council 清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件 is among these newly opened resources.
Note: Individual account needs to be opened for access.

Free online full-text database of the Chinese Tripiṭaka. Currently includes the Taishō shinshū daizōkyō 大正新脩大藏經 and Wan xu Zang 卍續藏.

A research database of primary and secondary sources concerning the cultural contacts between China and Europe in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries (from 1582 to ca. 1840).

Another free full-text database of the Taishō shinshū daizōkyō 大正新脩大藏經.

Images of objects (antiquities, paintings and calligraphic artifacts) preserved at the imperial collections and palatial treasures from the National Palace Museum, Taipei.