Skip to Main Content

Chinese Studies

Selected digital resources for conducting research in Chinese Studies at the University of Michigan

Library Contact

Profile Photo
Liangyu Fu
Contact:
415 Hatcher Graduate Library North
Asia Library
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
(734) 936-2354

What's in this Guide

This LibGuide provides a general map of digital resources for the Chinese Studies community at the University of Michigan.  The majority of the resources listed here are in the Chinese language.  They are categorized into seven tabs.  Start browsing now, and you will learn more about each resource through overviews.  Then click the link and experience its interface and searching function. 

Please note that this LibGuide is not exhaustive.  For example, no printed and microfilm materials are included here although the Asia Library does have a tremendous collection.  It is possible that resources that are specifically useful for your own courseworks and research projects may not be represented here.  If you have any questions, please contact your Chinese Studies Librarian Liangyu Fu for help.

  • Other useful LibGuides for Chinese Studies:

          Chinese Dance

          English-language Resources on East Asian Studies

          GIS, Maps and Statistical Data on China

          Chinese-language Resources in STEM Fields (STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)

NEW resources!

中国地方历史文献数据库 The Database of Chinese Historical Local Archives is full-text searchable database containing local archives from Huizhou (Anhui Province) 徽州文书 and Shicang (Zhejiang Province) 石仓文书.

==========================

中国司法档案数据库·江津卷 The Database of Chinese Judicial Archives (Jiangjin section) is a full-text searchable database of judicial documents sourced from the Jiangjin District Archive (Chongqing), containing over 1,800 volumes, 120,000 pages of litigation files from 1911 to 1949.

==========================

张乐天联民村数据库 Zhang Letian Fieldwork Database is a collection of rare primary source materials from Mao-era China.

==========================

Nine new modules added to Gale's Archives Unbound: FBI File on Owen Lattimore; China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1939: Part 1; China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1939: Part 2; China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1940-1944; China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949; Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955; Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: China; Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945; Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941

==========================

The Database for the History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements, 1949- 中國當代政治運動史數據庫 contains four modules: the Political Campaigns in the 1950s; the Great Leap Forward- Great Famine; the Anti-Rightist Campaign; the Cultural Revolution.

==========================

The Global Times 环球时报 is a full-text searchable database of a daily newspaper from China focusing on international relations and foreign affairs.

==========================

雕龍: 中日古籍全文資料庫 now has a new module 永樂大典 available.

==========================

China Local Gazetteers is now expanded to include 47,000+ titles.

==========================

Hong Kong, Britain and China: The Rise and Fall of Empires (1841–1951) presents a collection of British government documents on colonial Hong Kong, spanning a period of over a century.

==========================

Compilation of Chinese Medicine Periodicals Online, 1897-1952 is a collection of 49 different periodicals on Chinese medicine published in the Late Qing and Republican Periods in China.

==========================

U-M subscription to Diao long: Zhong Ri gu ji quan wen zi liao ku 雕龍: 中日古籍全文資料庫 includes two modules: 敦煌史料 and 續修四庫全書.

==========================

Sourced from Shanghai Library, Chinese Newspapers of Modern China - The Tabloids (1897~1949) 中国近代中文报纸全文数据库 - 小报库(1897~1949) covers over 400 titles of tabloids featuring approximately 400,000 pages in total.

==========================

Zhongyang Ribao 中央日报 (Central Daily News), 1949-1985 is a full-text searchable database of Kuomingtang's (KMT) official newspaper.

==========================

China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange includes manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects, and maps from international libraries and archives that explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

==========================

EPS China Statistics presents series statistical databases on China, which are sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, and covers various subjects, industries, fields, and all regions of China.

==========================

People's Daily (1946-present) may need no introduction for Chinese studies scholars.  This version provides a more smooth access to the content than the older version.

==========================

China and the Modern World includes two modules: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals and Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China 1854-1949.

==========================

Translations of the Peking Gazette Online contains approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from China’s long nineteenth century.

==========================

UDNdata Newspaper Database 聯合知識庫全文報紙資料庫 covers eight Taiwanese newspapers, including United Daily News, Minsheng Daily, United Evening News, Economic Daily News, and Star News.

Commonly Used Databases

CJK Computing

Using digital recourses listed require certain knowledge of Chinese and Japanese computing. Click on the topics below to learn more.

China @ U-M