Library Contacts
Learn More
What is open research and scholarship?
Open research and scholarship refers to a set of policies and practices that emphasize integrity and transparency in research, and support wide dissemination and reuse of the products of research, including both published literature and supporting data.
Why conduct open research and scholarship?
There are a number of benefits to sharing research and scholarship openly, one of which is the removal of financial and access barriers to the outcomes of research. The Nelson memo includes the example of COVID-19 research being available more openly to facilitate quicker rates of discovery and translation of science. The memo notes that “[t]here should be no delay between taxpayers and the returns on their investments in research.”
Are there U-M resources to support open research and scholarship?
Explore the links to the left to learn more about the Research Data Stewardship Initiative at U-M and resources and services that can help you produce open research and scholarship at each stage of the research lifecycle.
If you are not sure where to begin, please contact a Subject Specialist in your discipline in the U-M Library.
U-M Research Data Stewardship Initiative (RDSI)
- Research Data Stewardship Initiative homepageThe U-M Research Data Stewardship Initiative (RDSI) has been launched to help the U-M research community navigate the evolving research data landscape.
- Research Data Stewardship FAQsAnswers to common questions about what research data are, research compliance, data sharing, and data ownership and retention.
- Resources for Research Data StewardshipInformation about data stewardship practices, including a breakdown of recommendations organized by stages of the research lifecycle to help save time, address funder requirements, and maximize the impact of research.
- U-M Library Data ServicesServices for Finding Data, Metadata Management Plans, Geospatial Data, Data Documentation, Text and Data Mining, Data Visualization, Sharing and Preserving Data.
Find Funding for Your Research
- U-M Library Data Grant ProgramFunding for U-M-affiliated researchers to obtain library-licensed access to commercially available data.
- Funding and GrantsU-M, state, and federal funding sources; tools for preparing proposals; information about non-profit organizations.
- MICHR ResourcesComprehensive list of pre- and post-award services, educational opportunities, and tools offered by MICHR.
- ClinicalTrials.gov Registration & SupportEngage a clinical research specialist to register your clinical trial and receive guidance to manage your ongoing CT.gov responsibilities.
Organize, Analyze, Describe, and Manage Data
- Organizing DataGuidelines and best practices related to: file naming, file formats, directory structure, data storage and backup.
- Textual Analysis and Data MiningResources for mining along with contact information for requesting a consultation, workshop, or class instruction.
- Data VisualizationVisualization guidelines, tools, and resources.
- Qualitative Data AnalysisInformation about qualitative analysis tools and methods.
- Documenting Data (General Guidance)Best practices and readings, documentation tools, U-M Library services and campus resources.
- U-M Library Geospatial Data Services (Clark Library)The Clark Library provides assistance with statistics, data visualization, government information, and maps.
- Center for Statistical Consultation and Research (CSCAR)CSCAR provides individualized support and training to University of Michigan researchers in a variety of areas relating to the management, collection, and analysis of data.
- Biostatistics ConsultingConsult with or hire a statistician for services that span the project life cycle; from study design to publication.
- GIS ConsultingFor students, faculty, and staff in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.
- MICHR Data Management MentoringWork with a mentor to implement best practices and use related tools designed to improve data quality.
Share and Preserve Data
- Sharing and Preserving Data at U-M and BeyondInformation about data preservation and sharing services at the U-M library.
- Selecting a Data RepositoryThings to consider when deciding where to deposit data.
- Data-sharing Sources and ConsiderationsInformation about data repositories, sharing sensitive data, intellectual property considerations, and data citation.
- Data-sharing Sources and Considerations (Health Sciences-specific)Considerations about what data to share, data de-identification, selecting a data repository, and closing a research data project.
Write and Publish Your Research
- Discounts and Funding for U-M AuthorsDiscounts and funding opportunities for U-M authors, including Author Processing Charge (APC) fee discounts and publishing fee waivers.
- ScholarSpaceConsultation services, workshops, and course-integrated instruction to help faculty, students, and staff develop digital literacy and design skills.
- Sweetland Center for Writing - Grad Student Writing GroupsThe Sweetland Center coordinates several student-led writing groups for graduate students writing their dissertations or theses. These interdisciplinary writing groups provide structured, peer-facilitated support to aid writers through long-term projects.
- English Language Institute - Graduate Writing ClinicThe ELI Graduate Writing Clinic is free service open to all members of the U-M community, including international students, faculty, staff, and scholars. In Writing Clinic sessions, you will get help identifying your writing strengths and weaknesses, as well as guided self-help designed to help you become a critical, independent writer.
- Guide to PublishingIncluding choosing a journal, journal review process, publishing a book, publication agreements and self-archiving.
- U-M Publishing ServicesInformation about services to increase the visibility, reach, and impact of scholarship.
- Publishing Open AccessWhat open access is and where to begin when considering publishing open access.
- Information about Publication VenuesFind information about thousands of indexed serial publications and learn about calls for papers for upcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals.
- Citation ManagementInformation about guides and software available to manage citations.
- U-M Library Copyright ServicesGet answers on copyright and fair use through consultations, workshops and presentations, online resources, and more.
Education and Training
- Research Basics: Fundamentals of Data ManagementThis self-guided course from U-M's MICHR office is designed to outline basic data management concepts and demonstrate how data managers, or other study team members, can work to improve data quality. You will learn to speak the language of data management and discover how the concepts presented can be applied to the everyday management of research data.
- Data Management for Clinical Research by Vanderbilt UniversityThis free online course presents critical concepts and practical methods to support planning, collection, storage, and dissemination of data in clinical research.
- Online Training & Toolkits for Clinical ResearchDiscover a diverse catalog of online training modules and toolkits designed to support clinical research professionals.
- Digital Projects Studio (Clark Library)Tutorials and support for data visualization.
- MOOCs for GISFind Massive Online Open Courses (MOOCs) related to GIS concepts and tools.
- Learning GISResources for learning GIS concepts and tools, including ESRI's ArcGIS products, and QGIS.
- REDCap TrainingLearn the basics of building a database using REDCap for electronic data capture.
- Statistics Online Computational ResourcePortable online aids for probability, statistics and health science education, promotes technology-enhanced instruction, supports efficient statistical computing, and advances predictive big data analytics.
- Making 3-D Contour Lines (Geospatial Data)A tutorial designed for architecture students, or others who want to leverage existing GIS data on elevation/topography, but who want to subset and convert that information for use in other 3D modeling programs.
Spaces and Infrastructure
- Advanced Research ComputingProvides services in computational science, data science, technology services, statistics consultation, and high-performance computing.
- Database Development & SupportHire an experienced professional to build your database for you and provide ongoing project support.
- Duderstadt Visualization StudioServices include opportunities for project consultations and the use of a wide variety of professional equipment, software, and workstations.
- 3-D Imaging LaboratoryThe Department of Radiology provides clinically relevant visualization and analysis of medical imaging data.
- Biomedical Research Core FacilitiesOffers equipment for microscopic imaging, flow cytometry, and a research store for procurement of on-site enzymes, reagents, and more.
- Informatics ServicesHarness MICHR-supported infrastructure for efficient and secure use of research applications and platforms, including REDCap.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2024 4:54 PM