History Librarian
Finding Primary Sources
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowClick on "Asian Studies" to see collections specifically related to China.
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of records documenting U.S. and British relations with a variety of Asian Nations.
- China, America, and the PacificPrimary source materials for the study of the history of North American trade and cultural exchange with China. It covers the 18th and 19th centuries, China, America and the Pacific. This collection also provides coverage of China’s economic dealings with the whole of East Asia and the Pacific.
- China: Culture and SocietySpanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available full-text searchable rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. Also includes secondary resources, such as scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors’ choices from the collection.
- China: Trade, Politics, and Culture 1793-1980Includes unique manuscript material drawn chiefly from the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection, 1832-1953 This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to the backfiles of 12 English language newspapers published in China, 1832-1953.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowTwo document collections on the US and China.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowProvides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 This link opens in a new windowSources from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowLaw and legal materials. Includes the Foreign Relations of the United States, published by the State Department.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIncludes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record, CRS Reports and executive agency documents.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCustom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 30 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.
- South China Morning Post (1903-1996) This link opens in a new windowComplete, searchable backfile of the major English-language newspaper of Hong Kong (excluding the last 10 years).
There are many more databases that cover US History that can be found on the US History Research Guide.
Finding Secondary Sources
Use the Library Catalog to find books. Be sure to pay attention to the date and publisher of the book - the Catalog does include older materials and primary sources.
- U-M Library Catalog Search This link opens in a new windowCatalog Search results will include everything in the University of Michigan Library physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Use these databases to find articles from scholarly journals. Scholarly journals also have features like book reviews, so make sure it's a research article.
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to scholarly journals and e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies and university presses.
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
Citations
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable online access to the 17th (2017) and 16th (2010) editions of the standard style manual.