What is a Database?
There are over 1,000,000 scholarly articles published each year, and many of them are not available on Google or GoogleScholar. The best way to find articles for your research is to use library databases.
Library databases are collections that help researchers locate articles on specified topics. Within a database, scholarly articles are described with details including title, author, date of publication, journal title, subjects, and keywords. Many databases also include a link to the article PDF.
In a research institution like U-M and its Library, it is common to have access to hundreds or thousands of databases that vary according to subject.
This video contains information about library databases, it is 2 min 41 seconds with a closed caption option.
Databases for Computer Science
Search for journal articles, conference papers, and research reports in these databases. For a complete list of databases for Computer Science & Engineering, please see our Database List. (If you already have a citation and wish to find the article in the library, please use the MGet It MGet It.)
If you only use one Computer Science database, use ACM Digital Library:
Other recommended CS databases:
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of ACM publications, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters.
- Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new windowProvides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards and online courses, plus related e-books.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowCross-search access to: Web of Science, BIOSIS, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, etc.
- Papers with CodeThe mission of Papers With Code is to create a free and open resource with Machine Learning papers, code and evaluation tables.