Sources for Background Information
If your project involves a process that you have never researched, you may need to find a brief overview article on the subject. These ebook collections can help you find brief introductions to industrial engineering topics and also point you to good resources for further reading. Please see below for links to specific Civil and Environmental Engineering handbooks.
- International Water Association (IWA) Ebooks This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 700 ebooks from IWA Publishing. IWA is a leading publisher on all aspects of water, wastewater, and environment.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComplete online access to McGraw-Hill's Engineering Handbooks.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 25,000 academic books published by Taylor & Francis and CRC Press.
- KnovelKnovel is an online collection of engineering and science reference books. Titles include Machinery's Handbook, Mechanical Engineers' Reference Books, and others from all engineering disciplines.
- Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new windowUnlimited, full text access to business, technical, and engineering e-books.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAn online, multimedia encyclopedia and dictionary covering all major scientific disciplines.
Online Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Dictionaries
These selected resources are available online to University of Michigan affiliated students, staff & faculty. You can also visit Knovel, AccessEngineering, and Taylor & Francis eBooks to view other online reference works.
Click on the topic of interest below to navigate the list.
General Resources | Civil Engineering | Environmental Engineering | Construction | HVAC Design | Sustainability
General Resources
The Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 0849315867Publication Date: 2004The Engineering Handbook is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices.
RS Means CostWorksOnline access to the complete RSMeans Library, including over 85,000 unit prices, 25,000 building assemblies and 42,000 facilities repair and remodeling costs covering every category of construction.
Civil Engineering
The Civil Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 0849309581Publication Date: 2002First published in 1995, the Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference.
Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice by ISBN: 9780470438411Publication Date: 2011A hands-on, single-source guide to the professional practice of civil engineering.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition by ISBN: 9781259586088Publication Date: 2016Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations features more than 3,000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards.
Handbook of Structural Engineering by ISBN: 9780429114953Publication Date: 2005Handbook of Structural Engineering is a comprehensive reference to the broad spectrum of structural engineering, encapsulating the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of the field.
Environmental Engineering
Environmental Engineers' Handbook by ISBN: 0849399718Publication Date: 1997The Environmental Engineers' Handbook, Second Edition is a single source of current information. It covers in depth the interrelated factors and principles that affect our environment and how we have dealt with them in the past, are dealing with them today, and how we will deal with them in the future.
Hydrogeology Field Manual by ISBN: 9780071477499Publication Date: 2008Hydrogeology Field Manual provides the latest information on applied applications in groundwater sampling and water-quality assessment, aquifer characterization, contamination issues, karst applications, and more.
Wastewater Engineering: Treatment and Resource Recovery by ISBN: 9780073401188Publication Date: 2013Wastewater Engineering: Treatment and Resource Recovery, 5th edition, describes the rapidly evolving field of wastewater engineering technological and regulatory changes that have occurred over the last ten years in this discipline.
Water and Wastewater Calculations Manual, Third Edition by ISBN: 9780071819817Publication Date: 2014Water and Wastewater Calculations Manual provides basic principles, best practices, and detailed calculations for surface water, groundwater, drinking water treatment, and wastewater engineering.
Construction
Civil Engineering Materials by ISBN: 0128027517Publication Date: 2015-09-03Civil Engineering Materials explains why construction materials behave the way they do. It covers the construction materials content for undergraduate courses in civil engineering and related subjects and serves as a valuable reference for professionals working in the construction industry.
Engineering Economics by ISBN: 1498750885Publication Date: 2016This book provides real world engineering economic analysis examples, and provides the information required for engineers to be able to perform engineering economic analyses for equipment, products, services, and projects in both the public and private sectors.
Estimating Building Costs by ISBN: 0429223048Publication Date: 2003This book covers how to prepare estimates (e.g. the cost of materials, labor, and construction equipment) and explains the bidding process.
Project Scheduling and Management for Construction by ISBN: 1118417178Publication Date: 2013This book focuses on developing practical, professional-level scheduling skills throughout the building construction.
HVAC Design
HVAC Design Sourcebook, 2nd Edition by ISBN: 9781260457247Publication Date: 2020The definitive guide to HVAC design. This fully updated, hands-on guide covers the process of designing a HVAC systems and concisely explains the code requirements and standards for each component, helping you to design safe and efficient HVAC systems.
HVAC Systems Design Handbook, 5th Edition by ISBN: 9780071622974Publication Date: 2010This HVAC design reference book includes the latest codes, technologies, and practices for designing efficient and effective residential, commercial, and industrial HVAC systems.
>>> Refer to chapter 4 for information on load calculations.
Sustainability
Handbook of Ecomaterials by ISBN: 9783319682549Publication Date: 2019In this handbook, the editors systematically present the maximum possible number of known eco-materials, including "cyclic" materials; materials for ecology and environmental protection; materials for society and human health; and materials for energy based on two main criteria: their sources and their functions. Eco-materials are materials that enhance, or refrain from damaging, the environment throughout their life cycles.
Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction: LEED, BREEAM, and Green Globes by ISBN: 0128104430Publication Date: 2017This handbook directly addresses the needs of building professionals interested in the evolving principles, strategies, and concepts of green/sustainable design. It also address the new standards for LEED, BREEAM, and Green Globes.
Sustainability Issues in Civil Engineering by ISBN: 9789811019302Publication Date: 2016This compilation on sustainability issues in civil engineering comprises contributions from international experts who have been working in the area of sustainability in civil engineering.
Last Updated: May 12, 2025 12:28 PM
Subjects: Course Help, Engineering