History Librarian
History of Art Librarian
Jamie Vander Broek
Contact:
Librarian for Art & Design
2390 Duderstadt Center
2281 Bonisteel Blvd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
2390 Duderstadt Center
2281 Bonisteel Blvd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 764-3166
Website
Primary Sources: Newspapers & Magazines
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowDigitized historic American newspapers published from 1836-1922.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCustom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 30 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowOver 170 periodicals from 26 states by and about African Americans.
- American Periodicals (APS) This link opens in a new windowSearchable, full text of selected American periodicals of all kinds published between 1740 and 1900.
- American Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new windowProvides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.
- Women's Magazine Archive (1846-2005) This link opens in a new windowSearchable archive comprising the full backfiles of 13 leading women’s interest consumer magazines.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera 1749-1900 This link opens in a new windowOver 30,000 broadsides and ephemeral publications.
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIndigenous journalism from communities in the United States and Canada, 1828 to 2016.
Secondary Sources
Use the Library Catalog to find books. Be sure to pay attention to the date and publisher of the book - the Catalog does include older materials and primary sources.
- U-M Library Catalog Search This link opens in a new window
Catalog Search results will include everything in the University of Michigan Library physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Use these databases to find articles from scholarly journals. Scholarly journals also have features like book reviews, so make sure it's a research article.
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly literature on Western art, incorporating journal articles, monographs, essay collections, and conference proceedings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2025 4:58 PM