This is the "Introduction" page of the "Wikipedia at the University of Michigan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Wikipedia at the University of Michigan   Tags: wikipedia  

Resources about editing and using Wikipedia
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/wikipedia Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About

This guide provides background information and basic tools for editing Wikipedia. We also introduce the Wikipedia Education Program and the Gallery, Libraries, Archives, Museums (GLAM) program initiated by Wikimedia Foundation. In the Literature About Wikipedia section, we've compiled literature on controvercial issues around Wikipedia.  If you have any questions about this guide, please contact Science Librarian Ye Li or Ph.D. student in the School of Information Chris Leeder.

 

Five Pillars of Wikipedia

  • Wikipedia is an encyclopedia.
  • Wikipedia has a neutral point of view.
  • Wikipedia is free content that anyone can edit and distribute.
  • Wikipedians should interact in a respectful and civil manner.
  • Wikipedia does not have firm rules besides the five general principles presented here.

Read more on Wikipeida:Five Pillars

 

What Wikipedia 'is not'

Wikipeida is NOT:

  • A paper encyclopedia or a dictionary.
  • A publisher of original thought.
  • An indiscriminate collection of information.
  • A personal blog or social networking vehicle.
  • A means of promotion.
  • A repository of links, images, or media files.
  • A directory, manual, textbook, or scientific journal.
  • A democracy, bureaucracy, battleground or anarchy.
  • A crystal ball.
 

Interesting Statistics about Wikipedia

  • Launched in 2001
  • 5th most popular website in the world
  • 400 million unique visitors a month
  • 23 million articles
  • 4.1 million English artilces
  • 11.7 billion page requests per month
  • 280+ languages
  • 100, 000+ regularly active contributors

(Data summarized in December 2012)

Read more interesting statistics about Wikipedia here.

 

What is Wikipedia?

 

According to Wikipedia.org, Wikipedia is "a collaboratively editedmultilingualfree Internet encyclopedia supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation." On our campus, students, faculty, and staff all use it to find general information and somtimes even do research using Wikipedia although not everyone understands the strengths and limitations of Wikipedia. Editing Wikipedia is not only a good approach to contribute to public good but also a start point to develop a full understanding on when and how to take advantage of Wikipedia in our daily life, study, and even research.

Wikipedia            
Wikimedia

Participate in Editing Wikipedia

 

Student Organization

The University of Michigan is home to the first student Wikipedia club in the United States. Michigan Wikipedians was founded in 2010 and is open open to all students and faculty of the University of Michigan, as well as community members who are interested in Wikipedia. They meet every Monday at 8pm in North Quadrangle Language Resource Center, PC Classroom.

Learn more about student organizations at Wikipedia Student Organization Portal

MichiganWikipedians

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip