Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014
209 Hatcher Graduate Library
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1205
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Search Mirlyn to find titles and locations of books, documents, microfilm and special collections materials. For journal articles, search one of the indexes to articles listed on this guide.
Over 40 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.Describes library-held materials dated from prehistory
- Center for Research Libraries
Provides access to more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries Search for Latin American newspapers, documents or other materials in the CRL catalog.
Includes approximately 8 million volumes of digitized texts, 2 million of which are accessible in full text.
- Biblioteca Virtual Universal
Collection of Spanish-language texts in .pdf format.
Collection of Spanish language ebooks and ejournals, published in Spain & Latin America.
- Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la red CLACSO
Open access to a collection of over 12,000 full text ebooks published by the CLACSO member institutes throughout Latin America and the Caribbean.
- World Bank e-Library
Browsable collection of over 3,900 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,300 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. You can browse by region, topic, title or series.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Online access to EIU publications and reports including China Hand, Country Briefings, Country Commerce, Country Finance, Country Profiles, Country Reports, and European Policy Analyst.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Encyclopedia of Puerto Rico/ Enciclopedia de Puerto Rico
A multimedia encyclopedia covering all aspects of Puerto Rican history and culture, including the experience and achievements of Puerto Ricans on the island and in the diaspora. The history and photographs of the cultural routes pertaining to the 78 municipalities of the island, as well as articles and multimedia galleries on the different aspects that define Puerto Rican culture, are included throughout the different sections.
- Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Dictionaries
Combined access to 18 concise and pocket sized bilingual dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
- Diccionario de la lengua española 23rd edition
- Diccionario panhispánico de dudas