This is the "Introduction" page of the "Islamic Manuscripts Collection " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Islamic Manuscripts Collection   Tags: arabic, arts_of_the_book, codicology, islamic_manuscripts, islamic_studies, manuscript_studies, middle_eastern_near_eastern_and_north_african_studies, ottoman, palaeography, persian, primary_sources, special_collections_library, turkish  

A guide to navigating the Islamic Manuscripts Collection held at the University of Michigan Library.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/islamicmss Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Manuscript

Owners' marks and study notes on the 'title page' of Isl. Ms. 503, an 18th century copy of ʻAbd al-Wahhāb ibn Aḥmad al-Shaʻrānī’s (d.1565) Kitāb al-Jawāhir wa-al-durar, apparently once part of a larger collected volume (majmūʻah). Full catalogue description available here.

 

Welcome!

This guide offers an introduction to the Islamic Manuscripts Collection at the University of Michigan. In addition to details on the collection history, size, and scope, you will find strategies for locating manuscripts of interest, instructions for viewing manuscripts in the Library, and advice on locating, viewing and downloading digitized manuscripts.

Feel free to be in touch with any questions or requests for research assistance.

 

Collaboration in Cataloging: Islamic Manuscripts at Michigan

This guide, along with the descriptive content it adresses, is an outcome of the recent "Collaboration in Cataloging: Islamic Manuscripts at Michigan" project via which full cataloguing of the entire collection was completed.

"In December 2008, the Library was awarded a CLIR-sponsored, Mello-funded "Cataloging Hidden Special Collections and Archives" grant to support the cataloguing of its Islamic Manuscripts Collection. Our four-year project, "Collaboration in Cataloging: Islamic Manuscripts at Michigan," endeavored to engage established and emerging scholars by involving them in the cataloguing process - training, examination, description, and generation of searchable metadata...."

(continue reading at http://www.lib.umich.edu/special-collections-library/collaboration-cataloging-islamic-manuscripts-michigan)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Evyn Kropf
Contact Info
office: M117B Hatcher North (1A)
tel: 734 764 1220
Send Email

Islamic Manuscript Studies Research Guide

Islamic Manuscript Studies
by Evyn Kropf - Last Updated Aug 31, 2014
Resources for the study of manuscripts produced in the Islamic world and the manuscript cultures they represent.
6,087 views this year

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip